CALLING ALL USERS - RiseUp are having a financial crisis

in #steem8 years ago

As from their website:

We are in a financial crisis and need your support! That's why we launched our $1 campaign, where we're asking every riseup user to give us just $1 a month!

I didn't see any other donation post for RiseUp, so I thought it'd be great to run a STEEM fundraiser for them.

What is RiseUP and why should I care?

RiseUP provides many services to whistleblowers and journalists, such as email, chat, VPN, among other things. Many people depend on them to allow them to keep the world safe.

Our purpose is to aid in the creation of a free society, a world with freedom from want and freedom of expression, a world without oppression or hierarchy, where power is shared equally. We do this by providing communication and computer resources to allies engaged in struggles against capitalism and other forms of oppression.

Even if you don't personally use RiseUP, you can help protect free speech by donating to RiseUP here: https://riseup.net/en/donate

What about this post?
I will also be donating 100% of the value of this post (i.e. both SBD and SP value in whole) to RiseUP via Bitcoin. I personally donated ~$60 of my own money just before writing this article

As soon as the post pays out, I will be sending the value of this post as a donation to RiseUp, and posting proof as a separate post.

Please spread the word so we can protect freedom.

Sort:  

@someguy123
Yep there's another donation post for them here as well, that guy beat you by about 9 hours. ;)
https://steemit.com/news/@williambanks/riseup-net-needs-your-help

But yeah there's no reason the whole damned platform can't raise money for these guys.
If they have to fold, then a large portion of infrastructure goes with them and they literally cannot pay the bills this month.
So everyone, upvote the crap out of this, or mine, or better yet both! 2 upvotes is twice as much for riseup.net

Oh BTW, be advised that there is a user named @riseup on this platform who is clearly not affiliated. That's why I avoided using #riseup

I just saw that, thanks to @the-ego-is-you ; at least my post seems to be taking off, so maybe RiseUp might just get something from this.

Well between the two of us we're at $34 and climbing. If there's anything on my blog you can use feel free to take it.
I also don't see any reason at all why every person who sees us doing this, can't also just raise funds for riseup.net themselves as well.
Let's make this viral.
Guaranteed, I'd rather spend all my voting power for the next few days giving them money than see another makeup tutorial or "steemit iz teh suck" post go to trending.

So at least for my followers take my blog anything you want, make it your own, cross link it and let's get the whales to do something really useful and unique today.

Good initiative, I hope we can help them out a little.

I hope so too. I get the feeling that this is going to be a flop, but maybe not :)

Dear @acidyo and @someguy123,
since I started using riseup VPN, 5 months ago I made a donation.


Unfortunately, in order to use the VPN on my iPhone, a "riseup red" account is needed and I can obteine one only by invitation: can you send me an invite?
Thank you very much!

I See
I will Remember This

Nice catch, I haven't seen any other promotions on this yet either. Thanks!

@someguy123 There was a post made about this by @williambanks earlier today that went largely unnoticed.

Though I really think that RiseUp is a rapidly aging organization and not sales focused enough to survive in the long run, I think it's a good initiative that you put some focus on the issue of their financing.

Hm, I never saw his post.

So far I think my attempt is gaining more traction, despite him having a much larger follower base.

I don't know too much about RiseUp, but I'm always hearing about their services and how great they are, and when I heard they were in trouble, I wanted to help out. Not being sales focused is a great thing, I think they'd be in a worse situation if they tried to force more money out of people, and would have a much smaller reach.

Frankly I'm impressed. You took the initiative!
I think we should all be pushing the riseup message.
I was thankful to see this post.
You did great and you have a follower in me!

He's a fairly new poster and I just weighed in on how to make the article stand out more. It's a competitive enviroment. (as it's supposed to be) I think it's good both of you post about it though.

Not being "salesy" can be a good thing obviously and if you don't even need to sell that can be even better, but if you end up with no money and potentially in the red... well, I just think it's important not to shy away from making money on a valuable product.

It's not that I don't think RiseUp should continue to provide free services, I just think they could use a bit more income to clean up their site and promote their brand more.
--- This would likely result in a bigger audience, an increased ability for devs to produce really good content and would actually end up being good for everyone, not just them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68