Steem Power vs. Vote Value

in #steem8 years ago

Earlier this week, I read a post about how someone purchased some Steem in order to power up.  This had me thinking about doing the same thing.  Before I did this though, I wanted to get an idea of how much this purchase would effect the value of my upvotes.  After going through a number of accounts and pulling current Steem Power balances along with current vote values, I've generated the following graph.

The curve is linear with a slope of 0.00005.  The following two graphs show the the curve zoomed in at the lower end of the curve.  Based on what I found, it requires a little less than 200 Steem Power before your votes are able to change the payout counter for any content.

At the bottom end, a brand new minnow has a voting power of about 0.0001.  At the top end of the spectrum, ned has a vote value of about $194, with 3.7 million Steem Power.


Based on what I've found, it doesn't seem to be cost effective for me to buy Steem and then power up.  The effect on my vote is fairly minimal, unless I buy almost $200 worth.  At some point I may do it, but right now I don't have $200 free to spend on something like this.

Charts were generated using data provided by steemdollar.com and steemwhales.com.  

Sort:  

It is still possible to get curation rewards with little SP,although the chances are small. The chances would still be higher with let´s say say 70 SP,compared to 20. And if you want to get to 200,why not break the investment down to several payments. If you believe in the platform in the long haul, this would make economic sense,as you are increasing your earnings by interests gained by holding SP,and by higher curation rewards.

Which would give you the power to influence someone else's pay, but not your own unless you just run around voting on your own stuff. Even with a 2000 dollar investment you can't come close to a whale. Maybe a trout.

Congratulations @soaringeagle! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @soaringeagle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74