You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to @steemalliance and private "witness-slack" community

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Question: why is so much "discussed" off chain?

Edit: typo

Sort:  

Everyone involved including @ned wants all the discussions regarding the initiative public. Many of us just woke up or returned after a weekend and just going through the discussions. Everyone is making attempts to have the discussions open and transparent. For most people involved the last 1 - 2 weeks was very stressful. Irrespective of what they said or did this is one common situation. Please provide some time so that things can be put into place.

Oh, I don't even care about this non-issue to me. Steemit incs financials are their own, maybe they want to cash out all their steem dumping on the markets, fine by me... They get some cash for whatever, and the community will eventually recover. I'll be right here along the ride posting about my poops and smoking weed and computer tech, Buddhism and whatever else is going on, and maybe one day actually release the apps I'm working on for steem, which will likely (assuming x,y & z align) include my own node and datacenter (or a closet rented out with high-speed uncapped connections and a series of minimal cost vps servers).

I just don't like the disconnect.. we (ok, I) want to talk about the platform.... On the platform, not still tied to another network, like slack or discord etc..

Edit: glaring typos, my mistake

Personally, I would like to use an on-chain asynchronous communication app that behaves like https://zulipchat.com

What happens when people run out of RCs. They're just muted? Spend a bunch of money some people don't have to buy more? Does this really seem like a productive way to go?

Steem is not all things to all people for all purposes. That's unrealistic.

@smooth That's why I said on-chain and not Steem.

Also, it will be something similar to the proposal here : https://www.sbir.gov/sbirsearch/detail/1466795

@bsameep had came up with the idea independent of the above.

I'm not sure there are any blockchains which are much more scalable than Steem (though there may be some in the future) which means any attempting to do the same things will run into the same sorts of capacity constraints, though the details will differ. A lot of these projects are addressing the issue by way of ignoring it, wishful thinking, or even false claims.

@smooth See the link I shared - its the same bitshares 2.0 core + chainbase and the proposal is by our own @blocktrades :-)

its the same bitshares 2.0 core + chainbase

Okay, in that case it will be right around as scaleable...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87