You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goodbye dayjob. All into steem!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Congrats! Talented people working full time on Steem is a beautiful thing to see.

Regarding the top 19, there are only a limited number of spots and while I can't say I think every single top 19 member is the best choice in my opinion for the community, the list has gotten better. What I would suggest is not to look at it as an all-or-nothing proposition and approach some of the other top 19 witnesses about the idea of allocating some of their witness funds to your project. I'm currently sponsoring three other projects in addition to my own work. To me that seems a better way to approach the funding provided by the 19 slots than projects getting funded and unfunded just because a particular witness is in or out.

Sort:  

Thanks!

I agree with the list, it's really gotten better. Glad to see newcomer talents being appreciated.
And of course you're also right with projects being funded by more than one source, especially when they're as big as PEvO. The total cost for it can easily accumulate into the millions over time.
We try to handle everything as open as possible, and everyone is invited to contribute. That includes monetary contributions of course.
I'm able to carry the running expenses by myself for a while now, we just can't expand much more with the current budget. If the situation doesn't resolve I may start to try actively raising funds next year, and at some point that won't be avoidable at all probably. For now I hope to get back up soon.

There isn't millions to allocate from witness funding at all. Currently power-downs for a long-running witness run about $2000/week and if you value SP at 100% of par (questionable), accrued SP is still only about $4000/week. I'm running negative just to maintain funding to projects that I want to support, delaying cuts until it is clear the market won't recover. So if you do need that kind of funding then other sources will probably needed anyway, unless there are some big STEEM price increases soon.

at some point that won't be avoidable at all probably

In the long run it will have to find support from the scientific community. We're not there yet though :) And to a big part it's up to us how fast we want to/can get there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30