You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Has a Severe Glitch That Likens It To Reddit, Facebook and Fox News

in #steem8 years ago

(whale speaking)

You're not a minnow Barry. With > 1000 SP you're well above that status already, and as you continue to collect rewards, your influence will continue to grow. There are a number of bloggers who started with nothing and are well over 10000 SP already (maybe >100K?) and I expect that some of the recent group of well-known bloggers joining Steem (you, Jeff, etc.) will probably advance faster.

I seriously doubt there are any cop whales (my personal opinion only) but I'm sure you are aware that pressure can, and perhaps will, be applied. If influence hasn't sufficiently dispersed (see above) before that happens, it could be an issue. All should remain vigilant.

Sort:  

Every single one of his posts have earned him money, he doesn't really know what it is to be the average user on steemit. I am starting to wonder how do I get enough attention to my work and have realized that people pay more attention to steemit related subjects than what makes the individual steemit user unique. Seems like writing stories barely got me a few $ and the only real money I have been rewarded was by adressing a steemit related subject in one of my early articles. Thats another flaw in the system if you ask me. You often see the same people coming back on the top page, wondering if they are making it there because of their content or because of their name. Let me tell you, If I was the one who wrote what you just have written, your message would have been unheard.

This has been true, but it is changing quickly. Most whales are not voting on Steemit-related posts anymore; they are trying to elevate other content. It just takes time for the SP to be more widely distributed. @kuriko I am sending you a direct message through the chat site to discuss your blog.

Is the goal to spread SP widely or should SP go to people who bring the most positive attention and resources to Steemit? If it's about bringing value to Steemit then you cannot deny that Dollar Vigilante is bringing value, even if it's measured under the political anarchist spectrum.

If in theory someone could convince Elon Musk to post on Steemit then we wouldn't be shocked if Elon Musk immediately got lots of upvotes. It's not a bad thing either because if Elon Musk is impressed by Steemit then he may tell his friends and that is good.

It is harder for minnows, for people just starting out, for people new to cryptocurrencies, and some whale power should be dedicated to searching for quality posts among minnows. I just don't think it should be at the direct expense of quality posts from celebrity posters or from established posters. It creates direct animosity if you say you're robbing peter to pay paul, or taking from Dollar Vigilante to spread the wealth to unnoticed minnows.

Instead, it should be that you solve the underlying problem of attention scarcity among the whales. Solve that and the minnows will be noticed more. Over time as whales power down the problem will solve itself because more people will have enough SP to make a difference for a blogger, if and only if the price of Steem continues to rise in the future.

Same goes here. My technical analysis get little to no rewards and the same guys get rewarded all the time.

Most average writers will never see the main page or "trending page". There is a growing talent entering the Steemit Community everyday and I don't expect to compete with these brilliant writers and bloggers. What I do think I can do in compete in my area of interest or my hobby. Maybe then I can make it to the "trending" page under MY category. That is definitely more realistic in my opinion.

That is because he's not an average blogger off Steemit. The people who are able to do well on Steemit from the beginning are people who already have an audience, a large social network, a lot of connections, a lot of resources, and it's no different than if someone brings a lot of Bitcoins to buy Steem Power directly. In this case it's people who are bringing celebrity status and social power from other places such as the anarchist community.

It's valuable to Steemit so Steemit rewards it. If any celebrity posts on Steemit it will be heavily rewarded at this early stage. So who is to blame if the other celebrity types refuse to post on Steemit? Bring your favorite celebrities to Steemit and upvote them.

Thanks for the minnow correction mr. smooth. Your analysis and advice to remain vigilant is spot on. I'm glad to see you come up for air when you are supposed to. lol. Peace.

@smooth is up for air very often actually ;) very dedicated Whale in my opinion!

even if you arent a minnow, you are speaking for the minnows...respect

I don't know how a person that's making 2000$ on his post is mad, I've been here for a week and introduced a few of my friends and haven't made more then 8 cents so sorry if I don't feel your pain.
I guess I'm just thankful enough to be off of crap ass Facebook or Twitter, 8 more cents then any of them gave me.
So thanks #steemit .Aswell as to @dan and @ned for starting this wonderful site.

When supreme court judges vote whether it be yes or no, (Because it has such a huge impact on a given case and the future) they usually publish an opinion on why they voted they way they did .. Perhaps something could be implemented at least at in attempt at transparency ? Just sayin ...
Read More, Reason More ... JTS

Smooth, there might still be cop whales, or whales with SOME political objective, one that isn't wholly benevolent. Think of it as a kid who likes arcade games, but also doesn't mind cheating or playing dirty in order to get all the tickets. Some whales might just be crooked people, and we don't want to play in an arcade where we might spend our quarters on a game that's already out of tickets.

I mean, that sort of analogy is kinda convoluted, but eh. It's valid. We want a website where we don't have to worry about pissing off a whale. What if someone with a bit of popularity wanted to talk about a REALLY controversial subject, and ended up pissing off a whale? That could ruin a person just for having an opinion, and that'd be rather unfair. Flagging ought to be down because of illegal or legitimately low-quality content, but it's not a secret that you can flag for any reason at all.

Even so, I don't really think that this problem is as big as the OP is saying. I haven't met any friendly or unfriendly whales so far. I'm just having fun posting stuff and reading new ideas.

~Kitten

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93