You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NETcoin now offers steem dollars as a payment method for retail purchases

in #steem6 years ago

Everything seems to be moving in this direction. I guess the new counterfeiters will be computer hackers.

I wonder if the crypto will survive a crash? If the internet remains functional, it might.

:)

Sort:  

You raise an interesting point about cryptos' internet dependency. Ab EMP, I guess could take down the banking system, but we should still trade with FRNs and gold and silver. IF the EMP takes down a crypto-dependent world, then we're all back on the gold standard, i guess.

Well, an EMP is a localized problem, as it does have a limited range. It can NOT destroy the entire internet, but it can take out pieces. So the whole system will survive, but function will be reduced. So some crypto will survive, but you should have some metals stashed back too!

It is a good mental exercise to think about the limits of damage that could occur, and to plan about how to function in spite of it.

Packet Radio can replace the local internet, and tie into the regular internet through a ham radio at the other end. I hope to be the other end of the radio, but I am set up either way.

So buy food, and metal, they will both be handy later!

:)

I was thinking about an EMP umbrella of MANY.

Don't know anything about packet radio. I do know a little about SW...similar?

One will take down our power grid, and many are hard to coordinate, so multiple are not likely. ONE will be enough with no power....

Packet radio was the prototype for the internet, run on ham radio. Some on SW, some on UHF. The information signals on the internet are still called packets.

I have a full packet radio setup, stored against EMP. I will have off grid power, so I should be able to hold communications

Should be fun, ROFLOL! I just hope we never need to use this setup, and nothing crashes! But If it does, I will be ready to make things work!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42