STEEM Newbie Primer: That Troublesome Second Post, and the Third, Fourth and Fifth.

in #steem4 years ago

As someone who looks for undervalued authentic posts from authors who get little attention, only too often I see the initial #introducemyself post get a whole load of attention followed by the second post falling flat on its arse.

Tips.png
Source

Talk about the troublesome ‘second album’, I know rock bands fall foul of this and then sometimes split up.

It’s the same here, and after the initial euphoria reality is going to set in and the newbie may just well say, ‘it’s not worth the effort’.


Jared.JPG
Source
’this is an extreme example, talk about falling on to planet STEEM with a heavy bang’...

Should the expectations of @jaredknott be raised so highly that he thinks this happens on every post?

To be honest the post probably got more than it should have, and probably not.

Unless you have a mentor, knowing what to do next is a mystery to many new people. In the case of the above, several comments were left on the original post but there were no responses.

’if you don’t respond to comments then you are unlikely to gain any followers’...

Following just one person is hardly going to help. I’m not getting at you Jared, simply pointing to one of several reasons why your second post is currently sitting at 1c.

RedLine.png

@obercreative did it right and commented to every response on his original post.

Though the debut didn’t gain as much attention as the one above look at the following posts. I think he’s done quite well.

JustinsPosts.JPG
Source

He’s also got a following of 30 people, not too shabby at all. When you start here, nobody knows you and so you need to reach out, that's the ONLY way.


Justin.JPG

As a newbie you need to expect some posts are not going to do so well in terms of rewards, I see a 5c one hanging around there.

Do you think I got $10 for all my posts when I started? I had several at $0.00, it’s not all honey and roses and we have all been there.

RedLine.png

@weddinggift joined in November 2019 and doesn’t get much attention. That is because she focuses on Splinterlands posts. It’s a niche area but this is place to talk about it.

image.png

I have been watching her posts with interest and this morning added her to my feed. I like her style, the comic images and she’s obviously learning about the game.

It’s showing in her rewards as she has been curated several times. I find her approach original and different which makes her stand out.

…’the key is to stand out and be different than the rest, if you can do that then you will be noticed’

@weddinggift is not following many people and if I was to criticise then I would say reach out to the Splinterlands community.


image.png

@clove71 is someone useful to follow as is @newageinv who regularly entertains me with his exploits in the Champions League.

As to @jaredknott don’t take this a criticism, we all want everyone to do well on the STEEM blockchain. I wrote this in an attempt to correct the errors of new people; I hope it is of some help.


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn FREE Stellar Lumens from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

line.jpg

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

haha. thank you so much for taking notice of my account. Yes. I intent this to be a niche account specifically for splinterland's journey as this will also be a blog for the munchkins in later life when they themselves embarked on the splinterland journey should the Android app is ready.

I still have 2 starter pack cards from @aggroed I received during #steemfest and I will be giving them later when they pass their government exams in the middle of 2020.

I do hope that it doesn't expires!

@littlenewthings at a guess?
I only got one starter pack, did you pick his pocket when he wasn't looking?

haha yes. But I didn't pick his pocket!

He graciously gave me 2 more when I mentioned I wanted to give to my little munchkins later when the android version is out. 😜

I remember going back every month or two to review the engagement of new members and it was definitely tough to watch. I could only wish I could get the attention that some were able to achieve when I started. Hopefully, communities and its implementation will help! Thanks for the mention!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They get a lot more now than when STEEM was at $2.80 when I jumped in. if it wasn't for @hr1 I would have got nothing on many more of my posts.

The amount of STEEM being rewarded on these is now staggering compared to that same time. It's a great time to post, IF.. it ever recovers.

I think it must help not to have an awesome payout on an intro post

I think it must help not to have an awesome payout on an intro post

A lot don't, but the good ones really stick out. There's still a decent amount of intro posts out there, have a look sometimes and you will see them. Many are terrible and get next to nothing.

I have occasionally found a good one but more often it's utter dross. Even at it's best it's not been great for to the shit posting fortune hunters!

Those second and third post can be rather difficult to do, and the disappointment along the way hard to take. I struggled when I first joined, but I joined steemit initially for one reason, finding new things/stories to read.

I think to many people still see the advertising for be reward for posting and make money. Still a valid point for some and they seem to be the ones that do not last long. It is when the expectations do not meet reality that people become disappointed.

Eventually if a person finds what they like they will grow, comments are a very important part of the process. Replying to real comments on your post, and leaving real comments can not be understated to new users. If they want to build a following, then the comments are the nails that hold it all together, more so I think than the actual post one makes when new.

Replying to real comments on your post, and leaving real comments can not be understated to new users.

Some seem to take to it like ducks and water and others just don't. What amazes me is that there are still people joining even with the price being so low.

There's still hope for this place... I think!

Best advice I ever got as a minnow. If you're a minnow focus on commenting, a Dolphin - writing, and a whale curating.

Not to say this isn't completely true and you shouldn't keep commenting or engaging regardless, but it's definitely a good rough guideline to follow.

If you're a minnow focus on commenting, a Dolphin - writing, and a whale curating.

How about an Orca? Maybe I should post less, it's addictive...

How about an Orca? Maybe I should post less, it's addictive...

It's just a rule of thumb so maybe all 3? LOL

Very good points. I have actually been really surprised at some of the rewards I have seen Introduceyourself posts getting. They huge even by today's standards. It has to be hard to see that and then see basically nothing on your second post. As you said, we have all been there for the most part. Great post.

As you said, we have all been there for the most part.

It was a little different 'then', I did OK on my intro post.. around $5 or so.. that was not even 2 STEEM!, they are well rewarded now considering the current price.

That is great though really. Can you imagine if they had been rewarded at a similar rate back then. I think the general landscape of Steemit was much more self absorbed back then. The fact that introduce yourself posts are now getting so much attention shows me that people are looking to reward good and new content once again.

I think the general landscape of Steemit was much more self absorbed back then.

I got a vote from a certain @gtg on my intro post, I forgot to personally thank him for that in Bangkok. Even then some where looking at intro posts and giving a damn.

Then there was @hr1, what a legend!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 13.85% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I am just sad that some people also easily gives up. Some gives up before even trying lol. Steem folks that is surviving this crypto winter are indeed the chosen ones. :D @slobberchops

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.588 which ranks you at #1934 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98