You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Distributing Steem toward and away from content

in #steem5 years ago

For example, someone could downvote my post because they disagree with what I say and think it doesn't deserve the reward their stake can direct away - and they are entitled to do so.

I don't get the first part. I mean... I see that happen a lot. Downvotes because of disagreement with the opinion of the author. What happened to freedom of speech?

In a perfect Steem world of downvotes, everyone would use their quota each day and redirect 25% of the distributed votes away from what doesn't add value onto what does. This is of course subjective...

It is subjective, alright. And that does bother me more than just a bit.

Tbh, I have 0% trust in the fact that people will be using their free downvotes for battling abuse. I'm with @buggedout on this one... I'm very afraid it is going to turn out to be very ugly. Like this place isn't the Wild west already...

Sort:  

What happened to freedom of speech?

No one has lost their freedom of speech with downvotes, just their potential to earn on what they say.

I'm very afraid it is going to turn out to be very ugly. Like this place isn't the Wild west already...

It could be very ugly. Tells something of the community then doesn't it? This little experiment is about working out better ways to govern ourselves as well as build a decentralized economy that empowers participants to potentially earn. This doesn't mean earn on anything that is offered though because there is still a supply and demand factor involved. The more people who hold, the better it becomes.

I think there is a chance that if a few larger community accounts take part, more will follow. It is a community effort though.

No one has lost their freedom of speech with downvotes, just their potential to earn on what they say.

I agree on downvoting because you don't agree with the rewards a post gets. But not because you disagree with an opinion. (I see that happen regularly, though.) Imo, this will lead to even more fear to say anything that is not in line with how to big stakeholders think. it's bad enough as it is already.

It could be very ugly. Tells something of the community then doesn't it?

Of course it does. I saw a comment by you yesterday that mentioned that 'the rest of the community' should act responsibly. I honestly don't know how big that 'rest of the community' is... I don't think it's very big.

People tell me I'm a pessimist. I rather think of myself as a realist, lol. I hope you're right and it turns out fine, but I don't have a lot of trust in people when it comes to taking responsibility for their actions and governing themselves and each other. Guess we'll see how it turns out soon enough

I don't have a lot of trust in people taking responsibility for themselves either, that is why we have the world we currently have. The hope is that each round, a few more people wake the hell up.

The hope is that each round, a few more people wake the hell up.

Plenty of rounds to go to have enough who are awake, I'm afraid. Let's hope it's not too late by then...

Probably will be too late, but not starting means never having a chance.

Can't argue with that! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67