Thank you 'Steemit' from the bottom of my heart! Long Live Free Speech!

in #steem7 years ago

Hi to you all!

This is my very first post and I'm excited to have learned about this new community! Finally uncensored content creation by the people for the people.

I must admit that I have been an avid consumer of Youtube over the years. However, I cannot hide my frustration with Youtube as it has been censoring its content more and more based on what they see as 'politically correct'. I can honestly not understand how the attack on our right to free speech has been so successful. The power of money has been a major tool in pushing people to adhere to an 'official narrative'. Content creators are pushed to only create 'soft' content. In the last couple of years, we have all seen power houses like Youtube, Facebook, etc. degrade our privacy and limit our 'true' free speech.

I sincerely hope that 'Steemit' and its community will be the counter balance to this centralized system! Similarly, I hope that crypto currencies general will tear down the banking monopoly and that a decentralized, blockchain based voting system for our basic human rights is underway. For years I have felt that the 'establishment' was slowly but surely winning the battle for our minds. The power of their unlimited 'money/currency' supply has been corrupting the deepest values that we hold dear. Freedom, Equality, etc...

In closing, I'm honestly hopeful again and I want to thank the pioneers of this technology. I want to express my appreciation for those that are pushing back, those that have created this 'Steemit' platform, those who are developing the applications, based on the blockchain, that will enable humanity to regain the freedom it fought so hard for. We don't live in a perfect world, but we can actually make it better. We must.

While I am still figuring out how I will contribute to the network and its community, I just wanted to say;" Thank you! and 'Nice to meet you all." "One day, they might refer to this era as the start of a new (r)evolution!"

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit !
You got an upvote by @cryptokraze to start here.

Thanks for the upvote! How does the upvote system work? Is it like a like? How many likes can you give? Is that limited?

Welcome! Gave you a follow!

Thanks David, let's be in touch! What are you blogging about?

Various things really. Probably going to focus on my photography though

Welcome, I hope you choose the right pill.
I followed and resteemed your post, follow me back at @morpheus03! :)

I choose the 'musical' pill! What kind of music are you making, performing?

Trap

Actually had to check on the web to catch the gist of the 'genre'. Never heard of it before but I like it. I have more of a singer songwriter background. You learn every day! :-)

OK, I will! :-) and I checked in the meantime! Cool ideas, keep me posted when you got a full song ready..

Hi!! nice to meet you and welcome to steem :-)

Nice to meet you to Arij! Still learning my way around here :-)

Congratulations @silvergold! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Strong statements in your very first post!
You are my kind of guy and I look forward to your next post.
Why "silvergold" for your name, are you a stacker?

Well yes, I do hold the physical metal and like to follow the space in general. I appreciate your comment a lot. I see there are a lot of 'bots' around and getting a real comment does make all the difference! Thanks again for actually reading my post! Have an amazing day and let's stay in touch!

Thanks for that upvote and tip! How does that actually work? What are you blogging about?

While I appreciate the upvote and the tip, I had to give you a downvote because you really are a bot it seems and I don't see the added value for bots on this platform. Actually, It seems to be the only thing that could bring it down, because people are tired of spending their time responding to automatic messages. I am in any case.. I thought the Steemit community would go against bots but I see you responding and doing this tactic with every single new steemit user.. In my opinion this goes against what this community wants to achieve. Am I wrong?

I very much enjoyed reading your introduction. I'm so glad to "meet" you! :) @silvergold

Thank you Dihoa, Nice to meet you too!

Hello @silvergold. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

welcome Silvergold! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit ! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52