You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cost of college vs Crypto, Gold, Silver

in #steem7 years ago

What you are paying $200,000 of government paper for is another government piece of paper that says you know what you are talking about, even if you don't know what your talking about. The same knowledge you are paying $200,000 for you can get for free on the net. It's all about a piece of paper. Like you advised to your friend, your better off doing something you enjoy doing and the money will come. Cheers

Sort:  

Exactly. When I went to college I could pay for half the costs working a part time job, my parents paid a small amount and my student loans were small. I paid off the loans within three years. People are now graduating with 10's of thousands in debt and it makes no sense to me. I read an article last month about the percentage of student loan funds that are spent on spring break and it was both surprising and disturbing. At the local sports bar I live by in northern california, I'd say that 5 out of 6 employees have dropped out of college and that was after taking out loans for the first year or two. They are working as bartenders and waitresses to pay for loans even though they dropped out.

And they could of got the same job they are doing now, without spending all that time and money on a degree of worthlessness. If they just got a descent job to start with, saved and invested the money, they would already be ten years ahead of where they are now. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59