You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overthinking wealth Distribution - A practical guide to a quick headache

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Im starting to feel what youre feeling and i have yet to break 500SP.
A few days ago had a convo with one of the large stake holders thats been supporting me from day one, on the exact same thing you mentioned.

Its kind of harsh but its understandable to a degree. It all depends on the role a stake holder or a curation team wanta to take.
The current philosophy is focused on "new recruits" more then it is on the "battle proven"..

Now... I think the issue is that most of the on chain projects tend to limit themselves with restrictions im not sure do much good for anyone.
You mentioned Curie. Consider how much good they could do for the trending page if they didnt have the payout restriction and the rating bias.
But they decided to focus on newcomers.
Now thats fine... If they want to do that super.. But does everyone have to?
Everyone trying to do what curie is doing is actually making it harder to keep newcomers here.
Once a Curie drops.... And a few curation teams find it as well.. The whaleshares, the ocds, etc...
What comes after that? Whos there to pick up the newbie after that initial rush?

We need support spread out more evenly across the board. Curie has newcomers covered. We need another across the board curie.
..... Hard to do when such a huge amount of SP is.. Well you know where.

Sort:  

Yes, I do know where. A few I used to support are now totally fine with pushing my work aside with their paid votes, and that's another heart breaker after going this long. That was probably more devastating than having to start from scratch again after getting dropped from the initial curation strategies. I'm still doing alright though, even if the odds are stacked heavily against me.

Some days are rough though. I'll do an art post, after a half hour I'll check the hot list under the art tag, I'm nowhere to be seen. One promoted art advertisement after another with their fake rewards, no engagement, back when we had a view counter, there were ten views or less; I'm sitting there with a jammed comment section, having fun, many views, organic; I have an awesome following and I'd like to continue building that but it's incredibly difficult when folks are hellbent on taking away the visibility from their colleagues. I even openly asked why they don't just flag everyone so people can see their posts. It's cheaper.

It's frustrating, but whatever, I'll just keep doing what I do. I still have a lot of fun.

I for one started muting the trending stealers. I know that wont do good much for the platform but it gives me a peace of mind.
There is one Turkish guy that takes 3-4 trending spots every day with bots. The current top trending at 800 had a 1300 post few days ago.
All fake interactions. Any convo on the post is about bot abuse.
Steemlol memes at 300$. Ever since steem fell the nonsense increased.

If i wasnt taking complete advantage of dtube, openmic platforms i dont think i could get any visibility. Which is why i always push hardest where i see the most engagement can be found.
More often then not, the big account support comes to high engagement posts.
Best example is Meno and his Jerry post.
I think the middle class cant exist when its so damn difficult to break the "bot barrier". Getting that utopian, big dtube, big dlive upvote is extremely difficult. With so many having to depend on those platforms it feels like they are like that cat with so many kittens crying under her, not being able to feed them all.

If more people could break that bot barrier to trending i think things would change.
The trending page is not only a listing of posts. Its a diagnostic tool for the whole steem platform.

Call me a heathen but I find less fault with people who have been buying recently and buying votes in whatever misguided attempts they have to earn money, than the hardest circle-jerkers who should know better, and what I am kidding of course they've always known better but just refuse to expand their circle of compassion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46