You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For my own sanity, a deconstruction of Tron's announcement regarding Steemit Inc

in #steem4 years ago

I’ve known you as an active blogger since my initial days on Steemit. When i joined Steemit things were refreshing and that spirit continued for a while. With the bear market, Steemit and steem and everything else around steemit lost its mojo. Including your own posts and confusion. It’s not just you, I personally Went through it. I had this great idea that I’d be able to launch a token for my publication and further excite my readers and gain their attention back from Facebook and insta and Tik tok. I waited for months and even after a year there was not talk about Smts or anything. Let’s be honest the whole steemit journey has been filled in with potholes and disruptions.
Since smts didn’t take off, I tried waves platform. I even launched a token and onboarded a few readers. But waves proved to be clunky.
Very recently I moved the whole idea to Tron and I got to tell you that the ecosystem is a lot more friendlier and down to earth. You can easily find a dev who can put together a smart contract and integrate stuff to your platform. It even costs very less. Just from a practical point of view; this is what we need. We need real soldiers on the ground to fight Facebook. And Tron and its Dapps are very inspiring.
I’m not a developer, I’m a micro publisher who has been very badly burnt by the rise of monopolies like google and Facebook. I respect and understand the contribution these corporates have made in advancing decentralisation of information.
But now that Facebook and google have become so powerful, we need practical solutions that can work for us. Not endless debates on how and when to launch smts.
With Tron taking over steemit, I firmly believe this will accelerate innovation in the media space and give a boost to the fight against large corporations like Facebook. Yes Tron will eventually turn into another beast, but that’s a problem to solve another day. Right now we have other issues to resolve and Tron is our partner and a friend. Let’s welcome this move and get going. We have no time to lose my friend!

Sort:  

This was a really informative comment. The last point about another beast rising is worth thinking about. In the end it really depends on what Sun decides to do with us and I appreciate this as a huge wake up call to those who believe decentralized currency means decentralized power.

Thank you for your wonderful comment. I'll be sticking around no matter what.

As a creator, I must create. It doesn';t matter what the medium is or what the reward is. The act of creation continues.

The ability to publish and share and be rewarded is the boon for that effort. I said this on another post for this topic, but the capital expended of our "time" is not wasted, even if this move is the worst thing that ever happens.

We've gotten friendships, connections, endorphins and all that oher fuzzy, luke-warm stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48