Steem could benefit to have more Dropdown Menu Labels - I want to see the Dark STEEM too

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Right now we have 7 labels: trending, hot, new, payout, active ,responses, popular.
Sure, that cover a good bunch of posts. But I have the feeling that there's a "dark zone" where a lot of posts are forgotten. Usually after 10 minutes, you disappear from the first page of new (since update 0.8 curation rewards are more interesting after 15-30 minutes). And then it's not active or upvoted fast enough, it's not on the radar anymore until payout time. A good tag can help a little but still. And this system promotes the clickbait posts, whales voting, and maybe bots or concerted voting.

There should be a way to watch the "Dark Steem".

(picture: Jon Sullivan, Wikimedia commons)

Maybe additional dropdown menu labels could help like Video, Short, text, Pictures, Mid-time, Completely Dead.
I'm sure you guys can think of better labels to propose.

Sort:  

Perhaps it would help if the default landing page were set to New instead of Trending. I think that would help.

They put trending first because they want a first page with the most interesting topics. The new category tends to be a little random, I can understand that.

I am sure the system will adjust with time. It is already much better than when I first opened an account a few months back. I am kicking myself for not sticking with it and then losing my passphrase. Great content will overcome everything, believe me I went through the same thing on Google Plus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41