Sort:  

I have no doubt it will... When? is the question no one can answer.

I have doubts. Haha. There is just no way for a crypto asset to fall if the whole crypto market raises in value which i think it will. The margin between steem and sbd i think will increase but 1$ is really not something we will ever see. 😁
More opiniated crazyness for you. Haha

The original reason that SBD was created was to create a crypto that was pegged to the USD. For most of Steemit's history, it was close to $1 USD.

Last winter when all of the crypto markets peaked it jumped up overnight to $12-15 and surprised everyone. So I think it will come back to close to $1 again. There is also talk of doing away with it entirely and we will have to see if that ever happens. Only time will tell.

Oh listen @silentscreamer I'm only pretty sure about this because we have witnesses, top 20 witnesses pushing for the code to be changed, for it to be pegged. They make solid arguments, as much as I may dislike them, their logic is not flawed.

@lukestokes has a video about this... let me try to youtubes it...

Oh. If they do this. It would be great for everyone. It would reduce bot usage. Im actually participating in a burn project that tries to reduce the price of sbd and increase steem price.
If they could somehow peg it manually to dollar that will work, but if left like it is i just dont see any way the open market will let the price be at 1$ usd

Well, when the ideas were put forth, the pitchforks came out too... Some started accusing of "the whales" trying to keep the poor, poor.

Its not that I can't see the counter arguments, but a speculative SBD is not a long term play and that's enough reason to consider it.

If you dont anchor it theres no way speculation wont affect it.
Everything aside, SMTs...
When ever anyone discusses anything steem related my response is always in the end...
"SMTs?"😇

lol you are too funny !

Hmm. The liquidity it brings to the table is a great thing imo and it would shock me if they did away with it completely.
Getting payed only in SP would really take away some incentive for small creators like me.
I use a lot of the funds i receive from my videos and reinvest into equipment, etc. If you take away SBDs, and dont offer something other as a liquid asset from post reward payouts youre really just uping your SP so you can reward others with more SP so others can reward you with more SP.
To use any of your rewards would require you to power down over a long period of time.
I mean they could probably offer liquid Steem instead, although i think theres a reasons they give out IOUs as payment instead of Steem.

Well, the way I understood it, and I could be wrong, is that you would receive Steem and SteemPower, meaning some of it would be vested (locked up) some would be liquid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49