Modern Slavery and the Steem Blockchain Engine of Economic Prosperity

in #steem6 years ago

pixabay_free_image.jpg Source: Pixabay

When I left my full-time job in November 2015 and switched to full-time freelancing I suddenly realized I had too much time on my hands. Since my freelance work was mostly writing tech articles like gadget reviews and industry analysis all I really needed was a laptop and an internet connection. For the first time I could work from anywhere.

Having total flexibility in choosing the time and place of your work is a feeling that is far more powerful than I can describe in words. This is specially true for people like me who grow used to strict daily work routines and 40-60 hours of the weekly grind in fancy offices.

I now had the "luxury" of working from my couch, a coffee shop, on board a train, and basically anywhere and I had a totally flexible timing to go with it. It took me only a few days into my full-time freelance life to realize that I had achieved some sort of freedom. Freedom from what? I wasn't sure.

shikhar_srivastava (3).jpg
Me, pondering over what the future holds for our global society

Looking back now I realize that the freedom I felt was freedom from institutional, mundane, corporate slavery. I worked at some pretty fine companies that have created wealth and prosperity in the world and even though I had joined these companies on my own free will to pursue careers and opportunities that interested me, I was still a willing participant in a modern form of slavery.

This slavery is, of course, not at all comparable to forced labour and the atrocities that many of our ancestors in societies across the world had to face. But this was still slavery, albeit of a very different kind.

divider-1024.png

Enter Steem Blockchain

One of the reasons I am extremely optimistic and bullish about the crypto space and blockchain technology, in particular, is this idea of freedom from modern corporate slavery.

The Steem blockchain isn't just creating a new and interesting educational and economic avenue for people who are long-time bloggers like myself but it is an entire engine of economic prosperity all its own. For many people living in difficult circumstances and closed societies, the steem blockchain has the potential to offer employment alternatives.

Having spent a few weeks on the Steem blockchain now I have also realized that this is just the tip of the iceberg. Steem is yet to hit a million users and it has already changed the lives of thousands of people. I intend to keep exploring Steem and over time I am going to get more involved with the platform. I have already introduced a dozen of my friends to the Steem blockchain and I can tell you that all of them are excited and are getting ready to get involved in this ecosystem ASAP.

Freedom maybe a fancy concept to those who have taken it for granted but for many people around the world, financial freedom, flexible timings at work, commute to work, and sitting 8-10 hours everyday in an air-conditioned cubicle still doesn't equate to freedom.

If you believe in things like - spending more time with your friends and family, earning financial rewards for doing things you truly enjoy doing, and wanting more from life than social conformity allows you to - I recommend you hop on the blockchain train and get more involved with Steem as I intend to do myself :)

"Find something to believe in and find it for yourself. When you do, pass it on to the future." - Solid Snake, Metal Gear Solid.

divider-1024.png

Check out my previous posts:


If you like my work kindly upvote, resteem it to your friends, and follow me - @shikharsri

Sort:  

THIS IS A TRIAL RUN AND BETA TEST

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as quality content that deserves more attention.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 26 SBD worth and should receive 57 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true. By the way, your post is listed on rank 13 of all truffles found today! You can find the top daily truffle picks here.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. I was created and am being maintained by @smcaterpillar. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

PS: Upvoting and resteeming my posts and comments will support paying for server costs and further development, thank you ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45