Mining and WIF...WTF!?!

in #steem8 years ago

I am a relatively experienced miner, started with BTC in GPU days ~2010 and yet I am absolutely butt-fucked as to what a WIF PRIVATE KEY is for steem. I have followed the mining guides and searched for clues to how exactly I uncover my WIF however all that I discover is crazy, batshit circular logic.!!!

In my config.ini file,

name of miner and its private key (e.g. ["account","WIF PRIVATE KEY"] )

Now we all know our account data, which can be proven by using as witness. WHat I cannot get is the bastard-son WIF PRIVATE KEY from any of my STEEM profile details nor the original hash which is used to generate all the others. Yes, the hash you are told to keep because STEEM will not / cannot regenerate it.

Some scuttle butt indicates it should start with a 5. Yes, there are a few hashes in my profile that start with a 5 but none of them allow mining when put into the config file.

So I have used;

  1. Original STEEM hash > P.........Z
  2. All of my profile hashes > S.......? and 5.......?

So, now can some enlightened STEEM genius please show me either;

  1. WTF am I doing wrong with my WIF key which I think is the original STEEM key as per #1 above, or
  2. WTF exactly is the WIF key? In my profile...pray to the STEEM Gods for generation using some obsure code...?
Sort:  

Account = shaynetwright
WIF = "Active, private Key"

Just go into your permissions, go to the second entry where it says "Active" and unlock the Active private key by klicking "login to show" on the right. This key should indeed start with a 5.

I have set up my computer to mine both on linux and windows multiple times. I'm sure we'll get this sorted out! If you want some quick help, I suggest going to the #mining Steemit chat here: https://steemit.chat/channel/mining
There are plenty of experienced people that want to help :)

Thnx...that worked. Interestingly, the code is under "ACTIVE" not "WIF"...no mention of the bloody elusive WIF at all.

Thanks, that was helpful, since WTF is not in the FAQ, it might be good if it was added by someone, how ever that happens. I just noticed it in the login prompt, and was curious about its purpose.

I hope You read Manual carefully. You have to use Private ACTIVE key for mining. Find it in two step at https://steemit.com/@youraccount/permissions:

  1. click box [login to show] - login
  2. click the box [show private key].
    Copy&Paste. Should work now.
    I really don't know what is for... and why so complicated.
    Mining with slow latency internet connection is pointless.

I clicked on "login to show" and it wants me to login again, the username show my username/active, I use my master password and it says invalid password. I tried it without /active and master password, and it seemed to accept it but it does not show me my WIF. Help

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.0 and reading ease of 88%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38