Steem Followers gets a new look.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Is it not funny how some things tend to break when you are on leave and avoiding your computer?

I have had an update in the works for a while, to give a bit of a refresh to Steem Followers, read on to see why I had to push it's release forward a bit.

screenshot.png

First though, let me say there is more to come, the change to the layout and presentation is just a symptom of having changed things significantly under the covers.

I have been working on this update and other functionality on and off for a while, but was forced to release it sooner because the database was just too darned big.

The number of transactions for follows has increased dramatically, and it caused the database to grow in size much quicker than I had anticipated. Eventually my old servers disk was completely full, causing the importer to fail and leading to stale data.

I hurriedly got a new server set up, with more resources and an attached volume, so that it can keep going for some time before needing a more space again.

So what you see is a step in the right direction, I am still getting to grips with the new tools I am using so it's slow going, but lookout for another update!

You can see the updates at https://steem.makerwannabe.com/@shaunmza/followers/1
There are a few bugs that need mending and this url is set to change when I have sorted out the other functionality!

Follow me!

[Edit 30 August, just past midnight] It would be on the day I announce it something breaks. I did figure out the issue though. It seems the Docker image I am using store the MySql data, in the users home directory, so my added volume was not being used for that data I added it for!

Sigh

It is late and I am going to get some sleep so that I can tackle this when I can think straight. I really don't want to hose data again.

So the data is stale... again... my apologies, please bear with me as I work through the issues and thanks for your patience so far!

Sort:  

Hello, how often will the data be updated? Today I miss the last two days in the diagram and table.

I use your site all the time. I thought you might have pushed the update only for mobile devices, but now I see that it was everything! :)

I like the changes. Thanks for building such a useful tool!

Re-Steemed because I think your tool deserves plenty of attention (even though I already included it in a previous post of mine!).

Thanks so much! Appreciate the resteem.

oups! Not working for me

Yeah, I broke it 😩 or it broke itself.

Then I typed a wrong command and wiped my containers (am using docker) so my whole database was wiped 😩

Re-importing from the old servers backup, then will fire off the importer, which will take a while to catch up, so a few hours left before it all good again.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

Thanks for the resteem btw, I only saw it today...

Love the work you guys do.

I use almost 11 tools for steemit (including yours) and they are all so cool and efficient.
Some for fun some for learning what's happening or... for both :-)

I think with this new world, crypto, blockchain and decentralized has been opened a new door to limitless possibilities.

So, people like you (meaning programmers) can have bigger playground to share they knowledge and advance more and more.

Thanks for all of that.

Also, i saw a few minutes ago that addresses are changing (urls). First i thought it was removed from that address your site. Saw something with October... dunno what is that :-).

Then, page isn't working, now error 502 bad gateway... and read your post.
You are for sure working on it.

You invest lot of time and also money to make it work. Hope you can reach your goals and get a place in the right job to get also rewards for your work.

Cheers man!

Thanks for the compliment.

I managed to break the site, by typing in a wrong command, so having to restore the database and do some other panic fixes.

Should be up to date again in a few hours, now I just have to figure out what broke it in the first place!

Hahaha, i was thinking at something like that. I tried a few times after that and loved to see the different errors like a refresh page game :-)))
But sad on your side to hear you managed to finally break it :-))

Yes... that thing with breaking is the mad part of everything.
As were noobs or just simple people that don't know about computers but need to use them. I had that moments when they did managed to break a program or the mighty windows and when they called me, i was looking at the... holy s**t... Never had that simple bug or error and struggled so many times till figured out how that simple thing can be restored :-) I don't know how to say it better in english... but i think u understand what i mean, hehe.

Also, i know just a tiny tiny bit of programming (recently made a php course) + playing around with wordpress, joomla and prestashop lately.

I did managed to make prestashop to work locally but when moved online 4 days i couldn't manage to make it work. Yesterday i did partially to see the website and access the admin page but have another problem regarding languages... some work some not... I did restored databases and files.... uhm

So, if me for that simple thing (for you) i have that bad times, i can imagine what you've been trough.

So good luck and keep backups of backups with incremental things on server :-)

October is the CMS I ported my stuff into, am still learning how it works so I obviously need to handle a situation like this better!

Looks to it now and looks interesting.

From mistakes we learn. That's the best way.

Good luck again and again :-))

Thanks for your work. The new interface is really smooth and I appreciate the tools you are providing to the community! mad respect.

Ohh interesting tool, nice to see my statistics laid out like this :)

i use your website often and it helps a lot and i enjoy it on a daily base, though i have to say i didn't understand the changed colour scheme with this update. :p

But i do understand it now:, "the change to the layout and presentation is just a symptom of having changed things significantly under the covers." and that sentence makes it very logic :)

Some Colour combination:

Thanks for making this great services and improving it, and writing this post about the updates.

i also mention your service and account in my latest post and integrated it in the project i am working on. Feel free to give feedback.

Styling really is not my strong point, so I just grabbed whatever was available in the them I am using.

I will try and get that looking better, I am not happy with it as it is now, thanks for the colour combinations!

Maybe it is just the orange bars that makes it confusing.

Orange is a warning colour, maybe green suit that bars better ?

Follows green

Unfollows red

Muted grey ?

I took some time today and updated the colours on the chart. Let me know if it makes more sense now.

I made muted a red'ish colour as I want it to stand out more.

Thanks again for commenting!

Looks good, will use it with even more pleasure :)

Stuff happens. Thank you for creating and maintaining a useful tool.

Great work, I love the update!

I'm so glad you made these changes to your tool. It works great and people are going to love the new look. I just finished an article talking about it. Thanks again. https://steemthat.com/clean-up-your-steemit-followers-and-following/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55