You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemposter syndrome

in #steem7 years ago

So many potential posts have been left to decay because I felt I would be judged and found lacking on them.

No matter how many compliments you get at work, you still feel inadequate, but so it goes.

Sort:  

At times I wish I had the self confidence of the follow for follow posters...

That is the kind of fake self confidence caused by the Dunning-Kruger effect. It's the same effect that causes your (and my) impostor syndrome. The better you get at something the more you realize you know nothing, and conversely, the less you know the more confident you are in your knowledge.

Don't get sucked in by the appeal of begging for follows. The only way to maintain a healthy community is not reward that kind of behavior, but reward actual content instead. Keep on posting, even if it's a bit outside your comfort zone. So what if a few of your posts don't get upvoted? Just be you.

I am not saying that posting such things is good in any way. I do not think that the confidence is fake, even if I do agree with the cause

No!

I despise that, I would rather want to post a thought provoking comment, and have a healthy discussion.

The follow for follow stuff is just the lowest common denominator and leads to yet another value (# followers) becoming useless when determining influence on a platform.

Sure many new users have 1000's of followers, but how much can the engage with those followers and get them to jump on board with an idea?

Don't mean to rant on your comment 😉

That is fine. I was talking about the confidence necessary to just post something that is such complete crap.

It is clear that somebody that pays something like that is not bothered by questioning the quality or the appropriateness of their party in the least. The very fact that they hit post proves that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61