#steemsaturday | Investing in Steem - Hitting My Steem Power Investments Target

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

An exciting week this week, uproar and defeats although not defeat in the UK Parliament, Steem dips low enough that everyone can have some on their chips and it looks like everyone is with 23 days of positive Steem power ups and more dolphins, orcas and whales.

I hit another one of my investing targets this week: 5,000 SPI tokens and at almost the same time, the Steem Power Investment Club (@spinvest), which issues the SPI tokens, became an Orca.

Steem Power Investments

image.png
@spinvest
I have no idea why this copied image has a black background

Steem Power Investments appealed to me from the start, which was just about three months ago. There are 1 million SPI tokens and I had a daft idea that I would like to own 5% of them ... it was just an idea that came into my head ... I felt that with a savings plan it was a possible aspiration.

The SPI growth plan was clearly set out with targets for dividends and re-valuing the coin. Steem Power Investments were untested when I first started buying SPIs, so my buying plan was set in line with my bigger ambition: I would aim to buy 5% of each stage of the tokens growth. Although the token would increase in value at each stage, there would be dividends and steem earnings that could be reinvested to offset the increased cost.

The very low price of steem has meant that I have been able to reach my 5% targets much more quickly than I expected. Given the opportunity, and that I had a long-term plan, I decided to buy more at the lower value stages.

This week, through a combination of token sales and growth, Steem Power Investments reached 50,000 Steem powered up and I reached 5,000 SPI tokens, owning about 10% of the fund. I have a specific purpose for this fund, and my next target will be reaching 7,500 SPI.

For the moment, though, I've reached a plateau and, although I will continue to buy small amounts of SPI from the income through selling other Steem Engine tokens, my next main investing target will be increasing my Steem Power. I read an estimate that there's about a six month window to do this before the price of Steem moves out of my reach and my latest daft idea is reaching Orca status in that time. In the shorter term, I'll settle for half-Orca.

This seems to reflect something that is happening in the Fund generally: investments have plateaued. The larger investors have reached a ceiling (for now) which has established a solid foundation and critical mass to enable significant growth. Last week, the Fund earned 265 Steem, approximately 1,000 Steem a month, on holdings of 52,000 Steem.

Now that the Fund is stable with some anchor investors, the challenge will be to increase the number of smaller investors and to encourage them to build their stake.

There are already ways that smaller accounts can puchase SPIs at low risk:

  • use Steem earned through posting and curation and
  • use pegged Steem acquired through selling unwanted Steem-Engine coins.

There is also a monthly group buying scheme where any investor can transfer their local currency, the aggregated amount is used to purchase
steem which is converted to SPIs and distributed to investors. This is ideal for small investors, especially those who haven't found their way round buying cryptocurrencies, and who want to set up a regular savings plan. The group buying post is usually published by @spinvest on the 6th day of the month.

Now, @spinvest has a proposal for Club activities where participants can earn SPI tokens through carrying out a range of tasks (referrals etc). If you are interested in participating, pop over to the post and leave a comment. This seems like a great way to grow the Steem Power Investment community.

UPDATE - 01 October 2019
Steem Power Investments, through its @spinvest-leo account, has announced that you can earn SPI tokens by delegating LEO tokens to the @spinvest-leo account. Delegators will earn 1 SPI per calender month for each 500 LEO delegated. The SPI tokens issued will be funded through Steem Power inflation received by the @spinvest account.

I've written more about Steem Power Investments in these posts:

image.png

Source Here's my favourite Steem Power Investments chart, usually published on Sunday along with the list of confirmed members. Confirmed members have signed the Partnership Agreement and have a say in the running of the Club and the investments it makes. You can also see the full list of investors.

You can read more at @spinvest and @taskmaster4450 writes regularly about Steem Power Investments. This post is for information purposes only, it is not investment advice.

Sort:  

Great post.
Congratulations on Jahm.Whitelist.
Respect s-irie

Thank you :) to you, too!

This post has been upvoted as a show of gratitude for being an awesome delegator to @spinvest-leo

Hmmmm... I don't know about this project yet. Thanks for sharing, I'm bookmarking it to investigate it later on.

!sbi status

Hi @shanibeer!

  • you have 290 units and 500 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 12888811074814 or 5.208 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 1.736 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 21.27 % has come from your subscription level
  • 51.49 % has come from your bonus units
  • 26.75 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.49 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Take Control! Include #sbi-skip in your text or tags to have us skip any post or comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55