The Key to Having Fun on Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

The key to having fun on Steemit is...owning Steem Power! Steem Power is what gives you influence within the Steemit community, and the amount of influence you have is directly proportional to the amount of Steem Power you own.

I see lots of new folks around (welcome, friends!), and many of them are just surfing around Steemit begging for handouts (upvotes). I've been there, so I generally try to reward good content whenever I can (even despite the annoying begging), but I gotta say that new folks would be far better served by stopping the begging just BUYING A LITTLE STEEM POWER. I realize that not everyone has sufficient funds to do so, but many do.

Owning Steem Power helps get your posts noticed (in part because you can upvote your own posts). Additionally, the Steemit community generally respects people who have a "stake in the game". Purchasing some Steem Power helps demonstrate your faith in the community and your long-term commitment to it. Faith and commitment to a shared vision are generally rewarded (with upvotes) around here. Finally, owning a decent amount of Steem Power makes it feasible to earn decent curation rewards over time.

So, if you want to have much more fun and earn more upvotes and more Steem, stop begging and start buying. Be smart and don't buy more than a responsible amount given your budget. But live a little and take a stake in the network. It's much more fun that way.

DSC_0135.JPG

Sort:  

I couldn't agree with you more @sean-king....Steemians just put a few dollars into your account and it will go a long way.

Also steemit is not a fraternity...Don't buy friends, make friends, and the money will come:)

Agreed. Agreed. Agreed. Bought 190 STEEM POWER today. You just earned my follow and my upvote, plus this lovely comment lol...

The whole article is a breeze in the community, but at the end the lady picture with that body makes me go to gym and shape up my body slim again, i will invest in the community because now the developer says that they are going to burn steem whenever a new account is made and this will increase the price very quickly, great opportunity for investment @sean-king

Dude 😎
First time I dropped a $5 upvote after hf19, I was hooked.

Adelaide down under what's up!

You in Adelaide too?
Pop quiz: When do we get to visit Marj?

Actually, I used to watch a couple very popular YouTubers from Adelaide. One was Durianrider and the other was Freelee the Banana Girl. What a train wreck those two turn out to be. Vegan drama. Anyways, they used to always say Adelaide down under, so when I saw you were from Adelaide, I couldn't resist saying it myself lol...

I'm really old, like 38, so I don't know those people.
Not sure I've even met a vegan, come to think of it :)

Lol, your really old. Holy sh*t I'm 49. What does that make me? Cheers, mate...

You just inspired me to get some more steem power. :) Great point about having some skin in the game. Glad to be following ya. Enjoy the day!

Totally agree. When I finally decided to use my account last month after creating it in October 2016, it took awhile for me to get the importance of Steem power and when I did, I powered up with whatever I had at hand which was just 4 steem power 😁... For the past four weeks I've been trying to balance out my cash needs with need to power up and I hope to start posting 100% power up posts soon.

And if I get my hands on excess fiat money, I'm definitely buying BTC and then buying Steem and powering up.

Thanks for the advice. I'm new here and very interested in what is all going on in this space. I've been into bitcoin and blockchain tech for a while and it seems like this is going to change everything! Nice to meet you.

Trying to link the picture to the story. Straining. Can you help?

STEEM On !!

Dave

If sean-king was a guppy he would have flagged this post as clickbait. :-)

Exactly. Well said!

Is SP the same as the STEEM you can buy on crypto trading platforms?

There's Steem and then there's Steem Power. You can convert the former into the latter by "powering up". Go to your wallet and click on the triangle beside your Steem balance value you'll see the power up option.

Thank you. 😊

True words
And for that reason I am on 100%power up
Best Regards Andrei

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67