My interview with @theprophet0 about work and school balance

in #steem7 years ago

IMG_2225.PNG
I sat down with one of the hardest working members of the Steemit community today, @thephrophet0 He is 100% focused on Steemit and Steem Sports right now but in a few months he has a "YUGE" decision to make as his Junior Year of High School starts back up. I asked him about his plans earlier:
IMG_2222.PNG

  1. How many hours a week are you on Steemit?
  • I am on Steemit about 14-16 hours a day which ads up to 98-112 hours a week.
  1. What are your responsibilities for Steem Sports?
  • I am a full time editor and writer. I have been working for SteemSports since last September and haven't looked back since.
  1. How did you juggle all of this along with school for the last year?
  • Well, I wasn't nearly as busy last year on Steemit as I am now. This coming year will be quite a different story, which is one of the reasons why I plan to take online school.
  1. Did any of your teachers know you were working so hard all school year?
  • Haha, nope. I keep all of this stuff to myself and my close relatives, really!
  1. What are your plans for High School in the fall?
  • Well, I plan to move in with my dad, and if that is the case, I will be taking online school (high school, junior & senior year) and I will be actively learning code languages and working full time on SteemSports (HUGE news on SteemSports is coming soon).
  1. How hard is it to get set up with online classes?
  • I haven't looked to deep into it, but I plan to take online school through Jefferson Madison Online High School.
  1. Is anyone encouraging you to do online classes? Or is anyone completely against it?
  • I think my my mom is completely against it, but she doesn't understand what I'm doing on Steemit/online, but honestly, if I move in with my dad, she will have no say.
  1. The Final but MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION OF THE DAY - If you are taking school online, how are you going to meet girls?!
  • Haha! Well, girls will come later in life, but right now I am focused on this Steemit/hustle grind!

Thanks to @theprophet0 for his time today. He is definitely doing BIG things and making quite a name for himself!

Sort:  

What you're doing now is interesting, building real skills, and you're passionate about it...

TBH, fuck memorizing random dates about when people started wars with each other

I vote for Steemit / online equivalent 😂

Even a worst case scenario where you need to go down the so called right track one day, a lot of employers would appreciate quitting high school for what you love and having a body of work to show for it

What a champ! He's guaranteed to be a millionaire

Hi, you had a typo on the first link of your paragraph. It should be pointing to @theprophet0 :)

@thephrophet0 I am fairly new to steemit but came here with the intention of blogging sports. (I'm from Illinois as well). I was interested in becoming a writer for steemsports. Is there a process that you go through to add new writers?

Where are you from in IL?

Oak Lawn, south suburb of Chicago.

Wow, over 100 hours a week, that is very hard work. The community here truly appreciates all the effort!

he's an amazing kid good interview too!

Thank you for reading!

I'm on steemit 10 hours a day, and my mum disapproves too, but one day they'll be proud that we ignored their advice, haha ;)

Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and followed!

Wow, thank you so much for the support. He's gonna be known world wide soon enough!

Good kid. I hope my boy has that kind of sensible attitude.

Nice interview. Yes, you gotta grind to make it here and it will definitely payout. Also, kudos to @theprophet0 for working so hard! Thanks for sharing this :)

When do you rest if you work for 14-16 hours? You please at least go out into the street or go swimming in the pool and run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79