You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Positives and Negatives of Steem Delegations

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

The bot culture disincentivizes "natural" curation. Sure, Steemit has always been shady, and vote buying has always existed. You scratch my back, I'll scratch your back.

But the rise of the bots has all but killed the old fashioned curation, which was something that was a big part of dan's original vision.

When I joined, the point was to "gamify" this thing in the sense that it was a competition to find the low valued content before other curators.

Now nothing matters. You either buy votes, or your content turns invisible in fifteen minutes after posting.

Unless you're one of the lucky ones in the elite circle jerk.

My saving grace is that @berniesanders was kind enough to sponsor my weekly story chapters. And I'll take that since I don't consider those to be shitpost spam. Other than that, well. You can look at my payouts.

And it does suck after putting two years of work into something.

I refuse to use the bots myself because that would require financially supporting them - and that's the thing that keeps them alive.

It's a sad state of affairs, in my opinion.

It's also annoying that one of the popular kids could have made this exact same post, and he'd be sitting at $200 with a bunch of ass kissers in the comments saying "Well said, I agree, this is great dialogue, here have my 100% whale vote!" Yet here you are with 7 bucks.

Sort:  

I tend to agree with everything you write about Steemit and all the issues we are having. But I do use bots, delegation and I manually curate, it's a system where one needs to stay smart to somehow get ahead, I like that part about Steem, of course how damaging or helpful something for the whole system is is always debatable. The system is bad depending how bad the players behave, we have A LOT of bad players here and with time there will be even more, only good code can improve things, and that will be hard to do, that much is obvious.

Considering that 7 bucks reward, that's the thing, because my ghosts of yesteryear's blogs through Steem delegation are earning enough for my daily needs I don't feel the need to have big dollar signs on my recent posts. This system should be a balance of all things, take enough for your needs, don't be greedy, be a constructive part of the community, search for new life and civilizations, boldly go where no man has gone before.

Yeah, I hear you. I don't think it's worth anyone's time to judge "the little guy". The big guys make the rules.

With that said, I'm of the personality that tries to be morally consistent, and it's just my personal stance that if I don't like the bots, I won't support them.

At least I'm not responsible for keeping them around.

People can scream "free market" all they want, but the fact is that the general consensus around these parts seems to be that these things make the site less enjoyable.

That's fair, but if you look at it from a perspective of an investor with larger stake it almost feels like you're a sucker if you don't delegate at least something to those bots. It's a grey area definitely, I'm mostly a light side but if shit hits the fan going a little bit dark to survive on steem blockchain is tolerable, it's not like if I killed someone. Blockchain Jolee Bindo.

Haha, that reference earned you an upvote. :D

And I didn't mean to judge. I just gave my personal stance. Right now, I'm following the STEEM price, and if it gets low enough, I'll probably buy back in.

And then there's going to be some flagging around here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75