Need some help on Steemit security

in #steem7 years ago

My friends,

Based on what I read in FAQ, it says there are different keys Posting key, Active key, Master password etc. However, when I go and see those keys, they do not match to what I use for log in.

When creating the account, the key was generated and I am using that key to log in and do everything. Ideally it should have matched the Master password or Posting key, but that's not the case.

Can someone explain ?

Sort:  

Never give anyone your login key. EVER. Posting key is to let other applications post on your behalf, sort of like letting facebook app post on your behalf. Memo key is to recieve steem from an exchange as the memo part when sending. Ya just dont give out your master key. Dont lose it either, or your account is gone forever. Write your key into the cover of a book you like or somewhere safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65