You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perspective: Steem was meant to be for content creators and consumers

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Maybe it was never really about content. I hope that isn't true, but we have to consider the possibility. If you wanted to set up a system that rewarded content purely on the basis of quality, would you create steemit as we see it today?

I like to think that steemit's ability to attract new users is based on quality content, but when I look at other social media, that strikes me as a little naive.

As for your situation, that's your call. But I'd be sad if the number of people here who actually cared about content, including yourself, dwindled away - because you are right, when that happens, steemit will stagnate, and there won't be any point in being here - not for me at least.

Sort:  

Quality is subjective, and yes, in the early days a lot of SP was devoted to upvoting content people liked. Now, most of it is self-voting, renting to random people, vote buying services, etc. So, yes, it was about content when first imagined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44