Time to start 100% power up?

in #steem7 years ago

It’s getting close to the point that the steem backed dollar is almost same value as steem. Soon there’ll not a great advantage to taking sbd to the market to exchange for steem. (At some point I was getting 3x steem for sdb).

3215A5AF-2DFB-4EAB-99AD-07ED665A4379.jpeg

Watch out if steem overtakes sbd! Then power up 100% (don’t leave your posts with the default 50:50 payout).

Right now, I’m about to start setting my posts to power up 100%.

I gather taking sbd to the market and exchanging for steem meant sbd were not destroyed as they were when directly exchanged 1:1 with steem in the wallet. In some way this was creating sbd as its own crypto rather than anything. (I don’t pretend to quite understand what the original purpose of sbds was!).

Sort:  

No. As long as Steem Dollars is worth more than US $1 -- you are way better off staying with a 50/50 payment. If SBD is $6 -- you will get 6X more value than if you choose the full power up option.

Ah ha. Is that right? I’m confused.
I’ve been trading sbd for steem on the market and as the price of steem backed dollars for closer to steem I’ve got less steem, not 6 x steem.
Is it different if you convert through the wallet option rather than market option @canadian-coconut?

If Steem were $10 and Steem Dollars were $1 (as it always used to be until this pump)
then you would only get 0.10 of a Steem using using 100% power up or 50/50.

If Steem Dollars are $10 and you use 100% power up -- you will still only get 0.10 Steem for each $ worth.
But with 50/50 option the Steem Dollar portion will get you a whole Steem each instead of only 1/10.

Excellent. Got it. 😄. Thanks x

you are welcome.
You are only getting less Steem because it is so much more valuable.
Imagine if Steem became worth $500 -- then your Steem Dollar (if it were $1 each) would only get you 1/500th of a Steem.
However, the bright side would be that if Steem were $500, then even a minnow vote would be worth a fair amount and your posts would probably be earning hundreds of dollars value each.

Wahoo! That’s my husband’s retirement plan then! 😜. Not I! I have too much to do to retire!

Thanks for your help @canadian-coconut 😄

I hope so ... lol ...

When SBD drops down below STEEM, your 50/50 split won't be 50/50 and be more Steem POWER than SDB.

@dragosroua mentions that in a comment SBD Inching Towards Parity With STEEM

Interesting post, I wasn't aware of the financial benefits at the current moment of doing 50/50 post. Wish I read your post before posting my own a few minutes ago as I currently have my power up at 100% lol Thanks for the information tho. I'll definitely start watching this closer.

Pleasure.
I’m not entirely sure it’s ever a good idea to power up 100% from what @canadian-coconut commented here. I’m slightly back to the drawing board but 50:50 is certainly the safest bet right now.
😄

Really, thanks for the information. I’ll be sure to check out the article you Linked. Thanks again 😄

Pleasure 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66