You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please Help!! My account seems to be hacked with SBD transferred to @jiganomics

in #steem7 years ago

Hey, I accidentally put my active key in the transfer memo instead of the memo key, as the description said that active key is used for transfers. As I was new to steemit I put my active key not realising it can also be used in place of my password to log into my steemit account! I believe this is a big issue from steemit side as the explanations of different keys are ambiguous and don’t make sense to non IT people. The password should be the only way to log into someone’s account. I had no idea there could be 2 different passwords as this is never done on any other site. Also he managed to steal my money the minute it hit my steemit wallet. Not sure how he managed to do it so fast. It is really sad to see this occur to people and such users need to be banned immediately!

Sort:  

Someone is scanning all posts and transfers for mistaken "key" entries, I guess just by looking for words that are 51 or 52 letters long. It's very sad that people need to resort to such things, rather than just making some posts themselves and doing some work.

The issue can be resolved by steemit bringing in 2-Factor-Authentication. This is standard for transfers at exchanges.

As wel as the fact that everyone can see everyone’s wallets. This is major security issue! It doesn’t make any sense to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28