Do I need a bitcoin wallet? Best Wallet? Mycelium is a good choice? I want to buy steem on an exchange.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I am thinking I want to buy me some steem on an exchange and I guess I need a wallet to exchange bitcoin for steem. I have never touched any cryptocurrency outside of my steemit wallet.

I have looked at a few wallets and actually signed up on Poloniex yesterday and was thinking to buy me some steem.

It looks like I need a wallet to feed Poloniex so I can exchange bitcoin for steem. What wallet is the best and easist to navigate? From reviews, Mycelium looks to be one of the best wallets. I am working in the dark here and appreciate any help in my next move to help grow steem.

Thank you for any help.

Sort:  

buy bitcoin from coinbase, then send the bitcoin from coinbase to your steemit bitcoin deposit address, you can get your steemit bitcoin deposit address by clicking "buy steem power" on steemit.. here is coinbase @ https://www.coinbase.com/craigonesun

@craig-grant, thank you so much for your help. I'm excited to grow in knowledge. Thankful for your knowledge. We steem on.

I use Mycelium on my phone, and I'm quite happy with it. I use https://changelly.com/ for instant exchanges, as it seems to offer the best rates. I quit using Coinbase, since they upped their verification requirements and started colluding with the FBI to hurt peaceful people.

@modprobe, thank you. I think Mycelium is the winner.

Thanks for mention us! hope you are satisfied by our service!

Are diferent things: if you wanna a good wallet the best is Blockchain but there you can not buy bitcoins only pay and save. If you wanna buy bitcoins it depends where do you live, but a good place to buy near to home is localbitcoins, you can pay in cash deposit and online deposite, paypal, western union, etc. Must be somebody selling BTC near to your home or country.

I've actually been thinking of moving over to Mycelium, and I've been with crypto for years. I've been using Electrum on computers, and Bread Wallet on phone, but neither really are under all that great of developments in improvements - where Mycelium looks cool, and seems like it's evolving with the technology. I also read somewhere on reddit that it's more secure.

As you know by know I am using XAPO online wallet. I don't know if it is US citizens friendly, though.

Why would you go through Poloniex? If you want to buy Steem and if this Steem becomes Steem Power than you can do it directly. Simply transfer your bitcoins (OK, satoshis) from your bitcoin wallet of choice to steemit.

@ervin-lemark, i was thinking of trading currency and I see people using poloniex. This is a new experience for me. Thank you for sharing your info.

I see. Trading and buying are two different things :)

For trading there are many places to do it. Poloniex, Bittrex, Bitfinex. Those ARE NOT a safe place to keep your currencies, at least you will be trading . if you want to buy BTC you can do it in bitstamp, localbitcoins. To buy there you need a wallet to keep your btc safe, like blockchain.com. So, yo buy your btc in bitstamp or localbitcoins, then you transfer to poloniex to convert from BTC to dogecoin or litecoin per example, and then you move the LTC o DOGE to a secure wallet or to speculate about the fluctuation prices of the cryptos and buy an sell -let me tell something about it, in cryptocurrencies, almost every trade is a high frecuency trade, sometimes in seconds or miliseconds, it's hard and exhausting and there are not regulations, sometimes is a bloodbath there, hardest than any other market. For steem you dont need to do that, you can buy in bitstamp or localbitcoins, and then directly convert to steem in this place.

@garvofe, thank you for all the info my friend. Lot to digest. Steem On Dude.

Another reason I like this post is bc all you super people in the 60+ Rep score we look up to, some have questions like the rest of us, which makes me feel better LOL!!

@barrydutton, we have to keep on with the good fight. We Steem On Together. Thank you for following me.

Google search Shapeshift. Simple converter that I use to buy Steem and transfer back ( and there is an app for it) oh and if you buy $100 of BTC thought this link, we both earn $10 but that's optional you can use the wallet for free https://www.coinbase.com/join/57d483644cf3705570459bfb or shorten : https://goo.gl/oW1Nhd

i use mycelium for my phone wallet. If you're only using it to buy bitcoin to send to steemit then it will work perfectly. You don't want to keep a lot of bitcoin in a phone wallet because they're are easy to hack and steal your bitcoin. If you're planning on buying a significant amount or holding long term you want to set up on a computer that you disconnect from the internet when you are not using.

What I want is an USB thumb-drive that is reliable and encryption secure . . .

I am RS u in 2 hours time...

Thank you so much ; followed...

If your new here i might suggest follow 99 people especially in the category tags you like, follow those people and VOTE within your FEED. Watch out for RoBOTS and Cheetars . . .

Welcome to Steemit, fellow Steemian ! ! !

Your welcome, I understand most people are looking for a cheap solution, but this is the best solution for what the OP was looking for, true security. Followed back! hank you for the advice!

If you want to go to the zoo, maybe check out the anarchy category tag to see some Trolls, but please never feed the trolls ! ! !

Again welcome : )

Steemit is what YOU make of it, regardless this is your own small part time hobby startup business (you get PAID) ! or just somewhere to look around.

But again PLEASE do NOT FEED the Trolls ! ! !

Welcome

This is a great post, a very #Steemy post for many of us newer peeps, along the #Steemit101 lines,. I am following this tonite, TY @runridefly -- and for your support online, since I joined.

@barrydutton, thank you my friend. Steem on Dude!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@screenname, thank you for noticing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41