A Way to Limit the Size of Steem's Blockchain

in #steem7 years ago

steem.jpg

I was looking into the current size of the steem blockchain as I was wondering how much space all of this content is taking up on the blockchain. I found that in September it was 43GB so it should be significantly more now. I read some discussions about how big this chain will get and how will it be able to stay decentralised. Some people seemed to think it would stay decentralised while others thought it would get too big.

Then I had an idea. What if to post content you need to stake some steem. Like stake maybe $0.01 worth of steem. By doing this you are saying " I think this content is good enough that it will earn me at least $0.01 when I post it" This will restrict the growth of the chain because some spam posts may now not get posted.

The issue with this that came to mind was this will prevent comments being added. My solution was to not need short text posts to have any steem "staked" and have a character limit to these un-staked posts.

This might help improve post quality. What do you think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @rumblestiltskin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65