You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steem Means the Decline of Capitalism and the Rise of the Collaborative Commons

in #steem8 years ago

Wouldn't the greater production mean a higher capacity to create new products? Color me sceptical, but I don't see how the profit motive will be eliminated by increased innovation when all thoughout history, innovation and even automation have increased along side greater capital markets and instruments for running them.

In other words, I think capitalism will shift into new realms of production rather than be pushed to the margins. I could agree with the premise of the book if human needs were finite and materials were infinite, but the exact opposite is true.

Once we invent new forms of production it may cause temporary disruption of the old means, but we have always invented new ones to strive for. I don't see this trend changing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47