You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Friendships are a piece of cake

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

"if one passes, the other is lost at sea"

I recently saw this with a distant relative, who was quite an important man, the Mayor of a small town. He and his wife lived an idyllic life together, but mostly kept their own company. They chose an isolated place to live, because they preferred the peace and quiet. When their children grew up, they moved away to seek their fortunes.

The man's wife passed away a year ago. He cries all day, most of the day alone. He sees his children infrequently. Once the smartest dressed of men, his appearance is now disheveled, unshaven, unwashed, on the few occasions he leaves his house.

When I spoke to him recently, it broke my heart. All he does is talk about his wife and cry.

I myself have not developed a wide enough circle of friends that this won't happen to me too. It is a terrible thing, and it scares me. :(

Sort:  

I myself have not developed a wide enough circle of friends that this won't happen to me too. It is a terrible thing, and it scares me. :(

I think there are many in this situation but few either think about it or, talk about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43