You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who is paying for your Author Rewards?

in #steem6 years ago

To be honest, I don't really understand the SBD speculators who are pushing the price of the asset so high. Of course, I don't mind the inflated rewards, but I still don't understand the motivation of the people paying for them.

Sort:  

It's a low liquidity crypto to speculate on. There are people speculating on completely dead projects simply because the token is on exchanges. The market is currently irrational and SBD prices are just a product of that, one which happens to benefit us.

I guess that irrational players in the crypto space are actually not a new thing. The only rational explanation I have for the high price of SBD is that some investors are only looking at the graphics and don't know or care that the natural value for the asset is much lower. They might also think that the since steemit.com and the Steem blockchain are booming projects the asset with the lower market cap is the one likely to moon or something. I honestly have trouble rationalizing it.

Option 3 I guess is for somebody who is getting huge author rewards to is pushing it up speculatively in order for them to keep getting highly inflated rewards but I doubt the math would actually work out on that one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71