Just When I Was About to Quit Steeming

in #steem7 years ago

I've been steeming for less than a week now.

Yesterday, a friend asked about my steeming experience. Ironically, I was JUST thinking about how I was going to "chill" because steeming seems to be more beneficial for the professional bloggers out there. They know which "key" words to use in the title, they know which topics will get them paid, they tag sh*t just right.

The wild flower in me

can't find peace in speaking on a topic just to get paid. I don't like forcing ANYTHING, including posts. I found myself fiendishly plotting on things to steem about in order to maintain a presence. To my displeasure, I saw how steeming can feel like a job...

I don't want another job. I want freedom.

Anyway, point is...I decided to back down. I figured, the time I put into conjuring up and piecing together "stories" could be spent researching and making blockchain investments. I'm not concerned about getting an upvote with Genisis, ETC, BCC, BTC, etc. I can study the market and anticipate a reward based on a calculated/speculative decisions. But the steem world is unpredictable...unless you're the afore mentioned professional blogger, there is no calculating the number of votes you receive. There is no predicting how many people will actually read or vote for this blog. I decided that if I write something, it will be true to me, it will be fun for me.

I found myself wondering if bloggers on steem believe their own stories.

What a tangled web we weave.
Anywho....the only reason I logged on to steem was to see how I fared in a #fiftywords writing competition for steem babies. I was pleased to see that I won (Yay! Check out the 50-word story on my feed), earned some steem thanks to @ogochukwu, and gained a few followers.
[Sidebar: Now that I have steem...do I Power Up or nah? When is it best to power up?]

My winnings gave me a new-found faith.

After the pleasant surprise in my wallet, I was drawn into a ETHER debate resteemed by @craig-grant. That debate must've taken an hour of my time. And once again, time that was intended for trading and thinking of a master plan was spent on steemit at 3am when no one will likely even be awake to read any of this. So I ask myself...why am I doing this? What's the draw? Money? Community? Expression? Entertainment?
Perhaps potential.
I digress.

Sort:  

Congrats @righteousr.

Persevere and work hard and you will break even.

Don't miss the Blockchain Blogger starting this Tuesday on my blog.There is a ton of advice on the post.

@ogochukwu

There is an addictive component in this platform for sure.

Indeed!

Congratulations @righteousr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Sticks w/ it homie! Nun wrong w/ just posting what u feel...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48