[Steem Purse] Get 10% off Anything from Amazon with STEEMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

This post was originally a comment on @steemshop's post, but since it quickly got some upvotes even though I was commenting on a 4 day old post, I decided to post the idea. Thanks to @wackou, @anyx, @arcange, @ebargains, @steemvest17, @sjennon, @reisman, @evildeathcore, @vermute, @lyaandayani, @mhaivo, @kuvo, @dirty.hera for the motivation!

Please feel free shoot holes in this idea and tell me why it won't work. I may make a buy post next if I can't see a reason not to. Also feel free to run with the idea and make it happen.

steem purse.png\

This was the comment:

I was thinking of a way to be able to buy anything from Amazon at a discount with STEEM like purse.io does with bitcoin, but couldn't decided on percentage. Not sure if people would want to do or not.

The idea would work like purse.io So you can get say a 10% discount for whatever you want to buy from Amazon.com if paying with STEEM. buyer will pay a 10% premium for exchanging USD to STEEM by purchasing sellers wishlist.

If there is interest in this, there would be a way to set up an escrow account in which the STEEM will be held until the shipment has been confirmed, just like on purse.io
in a simple version a buyer could make a post expressing intent to buy or there could be a website that works just like purse.io

Save 10% on your Amazon Wishlist with STEEM

[1] Log In to Amazon.com
[2] Add Products to Wishlist
[3] Copy Wishlist Share Link

Create a sharable wishlist

Step 1. Add Products to Wishlist on Amazon

Click “Add to List”
If you’re new to wish lists, select “Create Wish List” (make sure the list is public)

Step 2. Configure Wish List

Click “List Settings”

Click “View Details”

Step 3. Add Address to Wish List

Fill out ‘ship to’ section with your address
Make sure that “Third party shipping” is checked
Make sure that “Don’t spoil my surprises” is unchecked

Step 4. Copy List URL

Navigate on Amazon to your wish list and click “share”.

Copy the share link.

Step 5. Submit Wish List

paste link on steempurse website or as a comment on buyers post

Step 6. Verification

buyer looks at the wish list and make sure there are no problems

If there are no problems, buyer replies to the comment with "verified" followed by the amount of STEEM to send to make the purchase ([Price of your wish list minus 10%] divided by the current price of STEEM in USD)

For example: If your wish list has items totaling 33$
33$ -3.3(10%) = 29.7/0.229918($price of STEEM) = 129.176489 STEEM

Step 7. Send STEEM to buyer

If seller agrees with the amount of STEEM, you copy and paste that amount and send it.

Step 8. Buyer completes the Amazon order

and replies with tracking information

Sort:  

Fascinating. I'll be quite clear: If I could by Amazon goods with STEEM, I would. If you set this up, I will use it. It gives us a direct to fiat connection to spend rewards.

Would you use STEEM/SBD to buy products from Amazon if there were not a 10% discount?

Maybe. It's the discount, however minor, that pushes me over the edge. I don't think it necessarily needs to be 10%.

If I could just buy with STEEM, though I might do that too.

I've heard of purse.io but never really know how it worked. That's a great idea especially by optimizing on Amazons wishlist functionality.


Setting up a similar system for Steem is great especially with people who are new to cryptocurrency and hasn't dared diving head first into it.


A regular non-savvy Jane/Joe, creates great content for Steem, sends steem dollar to a buyer, and gets a product from Amazon sent straight home. No confusing crypto exchanges!!! Steem wins by gaining content, buyer wins Steem, and non-savvy Jane/Joe gets stuff in exchange of making content.


I'm all for it. I'm really confident people will find use for it.

Great idea! Feel free to reach out to me as I have experience with e-commerce and used to own a storefront along with web ventures and interested in some type of steem shop idea.

the mobile app for Steemit, eSteem, has the escrow feature in its wallet. I've never tried to use it though.

I'm trying it now but having trouble with it. I've made an escrow transfer, but now I can't approve or release it

good jobs sir

I have also learned a lot here. Thanks very much for this post of great ideas :)

...more information on @steemshop will be coming soon.

@samstonehill I am considering making a post to buy some STEEM steempurse style, using esteem to access the escrow feature Would you be willing to act as an agent for an escrow transfer? This might be a good use of the @steemshop account.

If a transfer is initiated. it will most likely be held in escrow for 2 or 3 days until delivery of products is verified. Also if you are looking for agents for @steemshop, I am happy to act as an agent. Although to be clear, I haven't actually used this feature yet. soon!

Certainly I would be willing to act as an escrow agent. And as you say, ultimately this is what will have to happen for @steemshop. So, let's give it a try. And yes, I will need assistance from other potential agents such as yourself, so that would be great!

If you as an agent want to set your own terms and fees for escrow transaction, you should update profile from eSteem profile page, otherwise fees will be set minimum and terms will be empty. You can search my account in agent field you can see example of terms and fees...

Fantastic. Thanks very much for clarifying this for us. I will have a look today...

Things like this always appear complicated to me at first glance.

Great! I am toying with the feature now. I can't seem to get the advanced options to work. I have contacted @good-karma so hopefully I will have it resolved soon. I may send a small amount to my other account using you as an escrow agent as a test before we try the steempurse buy post.

Great. Just let me know what I need to do. This is all pretty new to me!

Me too, This is my first time even using esteem or escrow transfer. It may take a while to find the best way to get this done. I noticed you are already set up as an escrow agent. I will let you know when I figure out move forward. Thanks for the help!

Interesting. I wonder who did that for me??? Nice! And thank you for keeping me motivated on this one :)

ok, I have sent .1 SBD as a test using you as an agent. It looks like you should receive .001 as a fee. However, at this point I can't seem to release it or approve it. from either of my accounts. If you log into esteem under @steemshop do you see the transfer? Are you able to confirm it or anything like that?

I like the idea of buying stuff in amazon with STEEM/SBD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25