You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: World of Steem: What Are All These Tokens GOOD For?

in #steem5 years ago

Maybe if you think of them more as loyalty schemes/ points it'd help ease your angst!

That's probably the closest analogy for most of them rather than currencies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Agreed, and that's almost precisely how I see them... and I doubt I would have even written this post if they had originally just been presented as a *fun diversion."

I think it was the whole two-year lead in with the "This is the FUTURE of Steem, and will save everything and send Steem to the Moon!" sales pitch that made me scratch my head. When Ned first floated this idea I thought to myself "Dream on, bud... maybe 1/100th of 1% of web influencers are actually influential enough to make these anything other than Monopoly money."

If the current trend is anything to go by, most people get a handful of some token and think "oooh... handout!" and then promptly dump them to make 13 cents, and that's the sum-total of their interest...

But time will tell! I have almost always ended up in the Devil's Advocate seat... and I am totally happy to be proven wrong!

Well as the evidence stands you're right so far.

I tend to follow the evidence. There's too much optimistic futurology on steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67491.07
ETH 3345.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72