You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My community proposals for the Steemit Development Incentive Program

in #steem2 years ago

If there was ever a time for SMTs that time has passed, IMO. There was a time in the crypto world when launching your own token was the big thing, I'm not an expert but I don't feel like that's the zeitgeist anymore. Even if it was, I think people would want to build on top of more established chains.

On one hand, I agree, but on the other hand - the work has already been done, and we've seen some evidence that communities can benefit from layer 2 tokens. It's almost certainly not a killer app like we once hoped, but I still think it would lead to some improvement for community participants.

Sort:  

the work has already been done

I have no way to know for sure, but my guess is that (like a lot of software projects) it's less done than the developers thought at the time. I suspect it would probably need a lot more testing to be released, at a minimum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64349.10
ETH 3502.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54