You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Petition to Demand Steem be made fully Open Source

in #steem7 years ago

I am a long-time fan of OSS, but two points come to mind:

  1. Dan's attempt to make steem Open Source when planning to resign may have been self-serving and unethical. He probably should have waited until after resigning to initiate that pull request. Doing it when he was employed by Steemit, Inc may have reflected a conflict of interest with his employment and his future plans.
  2. I will not hold steemit to a standard that I don't apply to other products & investments. I use Windows and facebook, and their licenses are far less permissive than steemit's. My 401k has holdings in many companies that use code with far more restrictive platform licensing.

So yes, I'd like to see the code opened more to competition, but it's not a factor that's going to drive my usage or investment decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66