You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Block-Change You Can Believe In!

in #steem6 years ago

I don't have much of an opinion on linear vs. superlinear or removing delgations. I think the curation percentage is a big-ticket item, though.

I have long advocated for authors to be able to set their own author/voter ratio on a per-post basis. I think it's very unlikely that there's any one-size-fits-all number that's right for all authors and voters. And it seems that since that can't be done, maybe the bid-bots are mostly just a high-friction way to find that equilibrium by shifting steem from the authors' hands to the voters' hands.

I agree about rewarding content consumers, too, but I have no idea how that would be accomplished. It might be interesting to know how the Vice Industry Token is planning to reward people for watching their videos.

Sort:  

I have long advocated for authors to be able to set their own author/voter ratio on a per-post basis.

I've seen you advocate this. I think it could be a great idea to try, since we're apparently trying anything that STINC wants on a whim. :)

However, I do think that curation rewards should at least be set at a fixed minimum. And that minimum, in my opinion, should be 50% of the allocated rewards.

I agree about rewarding content consumers, too, but I have no idea how that would be accomplished.

Nothing tricky. I'm just referring to those who read and upvote content. They would receive the rewards via curation - at the much higher reward percentage.

However, I do think that curation rewards should at least be set a a fixed minimum. And that minimum, in my opinion, should be 50% of the allocated rewards.

l do agree that if the percentage is to remain fixed (as it likely will), 50% would be far better than what we have now. I should have mentioned that in my earlier reply. The current incentives definitely favor the authors, and disadvantage voters, which discourages people from powering up their rewards (especially w/ the SBD peg broken).

Even just redirecting the early-voting penalty back to the rewards pool as was promised for HF20 would probably help a little, but I don't think it's anywhere near enough.

Even just redirecting the early-voting penalty back to the rewards pool as was promised for HF20 would probably help a little, but I don't think it's anywhere near enough.

It's a pittance. The ~12% of rewards are also just going back into the general pool, I believe. So it's not all going back to curators.

I guess if we did the math, based on the numbers I've been using, it would be around 12% of the remaining 13%, which would be 1.56% of the original split. So, we might see a bump to 13.56% of the total payout of posts. Authors would still be receiving 86.44% of the rewards. (Crude math, but math nonetheless.)

In other words - it's an insignificant amount. It would have practically no effect on anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28