You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem post promotion: Past, present, and future

in #steem2 years ago (edited)

What this says to me is that people are using the #burnsteem25 hashtag solely to get the attention of sc01, knowing that if the vote doesn't come, they've not "sacrificed" anything.

I agree. The "out of wallet" requirement seems to be a big barrier to entry.

Any idea where to find documentation on how to write a browser plugin? I'd like to have something that highlights posts in my feed if they have a null beneficiary set or if they have a non-zero promotion cost...

I can't imagine that it would be very hard, but I have no idea where to start.

Update:

I figured out how to create a browser extension and use it to find the beneficiary and Promotion Cost strings. Now I just need to figure how to do something useful with it.

Sort:  

Ah, I was about to reply and just saw your update.

If it's any help, I've got a webpage hosted that shows all of the active authors/posts which have beneficiaries set, what percentage and the pending payout. I don't want to share it publicly but if you have Discord, I can share it with you there - the-gorilla#4289

Now I just need to figure how to do something useful with it.

It sounds like you're half way there. You should be able to navigate the DOM from one of those strings and implement some inline styles - you might not even need to do any DOM hopping and just replace the string that you've found with the exact same string + some inline styling.

I wanted to work on this plugin so I can make "promoted" posts stand out visually in other feeds besides /promoted and #burnsteem25. It's interesting that it has the opposite effect in #burnsteem25, too. It's easy to tell if someone forgot the beneficiary setting.

image.png

It's looking good...

It's easy to tell if someone forgot the beneficiary setting.

I think that "forgot" should be in quotes 😅

Not quite what I'm going for. There's a recursion thing going on that I need to work through. But, I'm getting closer. ;-)

image.png

Update: And closer still:

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66086.15
ETH 3548.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58