Dumpster Diving Diary #1 | Gift Economy & the Steem Blockchain | One Man's Trash Another Man's Treasure! 🚮

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

[ 2017-10-19 ] Shining a light on the Food Waste!

..:: * ::..
by @reko
..:: :: :: * :: :: ::..

Account created: 2017-06-16 | Reputation: 57.035 | Followers: 1433

#savethefood | #thealliance | #promo-steem | #promo-sweden

trashtreasure_jpg_png

Introducing Trashwiki, the collaborative world wide guide of creating value from trash! Here you will find plenty of trash-related articles: you can search by specific countries and cities to find the best places in your area!

dumpsterdiving.jpg
Here's some of the food I've saved in the last days of diving! :)

376713_10151974073985389_1114078976_n.jpgWe're saving much more food than we can ever eat ourselves in our communal house.

531720_10151974072825389_1475702962_n (2).jpg
Quite an abundance of free high quality food.

Why?

  • Bring awareness on how much food is wasted within our current system!
  • Save the abundance of food that is wasted and share it with others!
  • Minimizing costs enabling me to be 100% Powered Up!

I regularly invite friends over to share this great abundance of food. The new twist is that I've started is introducing everyone that pays me a visit to the Steem blockchain.

separador.png

Latest post:

Steem Poker Tournament #3 ♠️ Free to Play ♠️ [ 50 SBD + 28 SBD Jackpot ]
rekoapprovedpkr2


Appreciate Your Time and May the Steem be with you!


reko.png
Source

Sverige_reko

Sort:  

Wonderful thing you do
Sad, the waste of food
the ignorance of humanity is disgusting
the arrogance breeds the mistrusting
You are a model for everyone
as in heaven, in your world be done

Thank you @rumplestiltskin! Let's be the change we want to see in the world! 😀

heaven.gif

AMAZING! Sad that so much of that was actually considered 'garbage'!

Yes #thealliance, it's a reality every day at most stores, it really must be stopped and it's up to all of us.

Wouldn't think they'd just trash it, you'd think it'd go to a food shelf or soup kitchen or something.

Some stores do give a part of their waste to such initatives but to my experience it's mostly green washing and most of it is just thrown away.

Good on you Man. Way too much waste going on in society. I have lived on an extreme budget and waited till the last reductions in supermarkets late at night out of necessity. It is ridiculous how much food is wasted and i have no idea why a simple waver form is not produced from super markets. I have not had to go too extreme but i would. Why do people spend all the time working in jobs they hate to pay for stuff they do not need?
Great post . Thanks I had forgotten about these things and we should all be aware.

Hey @jist! They don't know any other way but that's why I'm here to shine a light on this problem and show that there are other ways to go about things. They obviously don't care about us or our environment so why support them? In Sweden we have a new form of decentralized farmers market for example where you meet the local producers without any middlemen which I've initiated locally here in Gothenburg, Sweden. Also there's smaller stores which is much more responsible how they conduct their business which is a far better choice, vote with your money! :)

Great work. I am following you and will look forward to your posts. Thanks

That's smart. The statistics on how much food is wasted in the us is mind blowing. I had an friend of my. An older gentlemen who you'd be surprised what he could do with his cane. He was a poor man, but the stuff things he found in dumpsters is surprising. Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you @dreamingirwin! Yeah, without seeing it with your own eyes it's truly hard to believe to what extent this is done!

foodwaste40.gif

foodwastepizza.gif

foodwastestatsus.gif

This is really some cool stuff your doing here @reko. My grandparents were farmers and some of my uncles still do a little farming on the side. It was always drilled into our heads you don't waste food. I learned that lesson well and have the big belly to prove it.

It is sad to see how much good food is wasted. I commend you for doing what you can to rectify this problem.

Thank you @chops316! Yeah, I have had the same thing drilled into my head! 😝
The problem is huge at the moment but if things goes according to plan it will soon be mere a memory of a dark time in human history.

That's pretty interesting. Do you usually get it from businesses?

Hey @moeknows! I get it from the local stores in my area but it's no official cooperation, I just go there after closing and pick up whatever they have thrown and trust me, it's a lot! It's hard to grasp when you haven't seen it with your own eyes. I have been doing it for many years and doing my best to shine a light on this massive problem as well as doing presentations and talking to media. This allows me to live very cheap even if I live in a country where everything is quite expensive. Which in turn enables me to focus all my time doing voluntary work and promoting the Steem blockhain! 😀

That's great. I know in my country some restaurants donate their stuff to charities just before the expire date.

That's great @moeknows, where are you situated?
I know that they come quite far with this in Japan integrating restaurants in the stores that uses the produce that are about to expire as well as using the rest for compost in house which they send to their local growers. Good business as they have special branding on these products which the customers love. Good for their business and a much more sustainable solution! 😀

I live in the United States. It's definitely not at a point where I would call it a solution. A lot of places still fear litigation. Quick story:

I once worked in a restaurant that would throw away cheesecake every other week. The rule was that we could eat it while at work, but if we took it home, we would get fired. It bothered me so much, that I once ate 8-10 pieces rather than throwing them away. I was so sick, I didn't eat cheesecake for a year.

lol @moeknows! It's similar in most stores here in Sweden. The employers aren't allowed to eat or take anything home by threat of being fired.

I have a hard time throwing away food myself but that's where inviting friends over comes in handy. Living the gift economy and introducing them to the gift economy of the Steem blockchain at the same time, a win-win! 😀

I agree. It's a great initiative.

Working on some official collaborations with the stores in my area though! :)


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 16.67 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @reko.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 7.80 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @reko. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Thank you for bringing this topic up for discussion on Steemit. It is just amazing, the amount of food wasted by the big supermarket chains. Especially when so much of it (dry/canned goods) could at least be donated to food banks.

Yes indeed @steempowerpics. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to do so! :)
What I've been focusing is to shine a light on this extreme waste to create more awareness. We are voting with our money and the chains doing this doesn't deserve our money at the moment in my opinion...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64