You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why "Communities" Will Be A Gold Mine For Steemians: Bringing Whales And Minnows Together: Look At Reddit

in #steem7 years ago

Since you encourage commenting, I feel comfortable enough coming in here as a complete stranger.

I have heard of this new community feature which is supposed to come here in the near future, but finally someone describes in a way that makes sense, thank you for that.

I wonder how it will really change things compared to the use of tags. You say, a lot of people use a tag for being more popular instead of being relevant... people could just as well choose to be in certain communities for the same reason. I am a professional artist, blogging mostly about my work under the art tag, which in my opinion is the most relevant in this case. But particularly there I see a lot of stuff, that doesn't belong there. My humble opinion only of course and today art can be anything I guess.

My question remains, of how communities will address that issue. I have read somewhere, that there will be some kind of moderation. Although it might be good for a certain quality, it goes against my idea of a decentralized system. Very curious, how the community thing will turn out. I do agree with you, that it should help steemit grow.

Sort:  

I am not sure if there is going to be moderation or not...you are correct, that brings a certain quality that is against what blockchain and decentralization is all about.

That said, with smaller communities it might be easier to downvote the people who misplace posts there out. If the "sub-community" is strong, there would be enough VP to oust the ones who are misposting.

It will be interesting to see how it all unfolds.

I like your suggestion that the community will take care of things as a whole by means of downvoting.. or say a warning at first.

One other reason why I am against moderation is the question of who would do it. Coming back to my job and taking a look at who "runs" the unions and groups, its usually those who spend a lot of time and effort on "moderating" and (self)promoting instead of creating a better (art)work.

Your words are encouraging though, and I hope the communities as a whole will respond to all that. Yes, it will be very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44