You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Puppy And The Preacher - How I Paid My Rent With Steem

in #steem8 years ago

That's great to hear. First post of people actually converting money into euro/usd etc. But how? My steem$ needs top be converted in steem --> bitcoin --> euro right? that takes 7 days. From 4th july --> that is 11th july. So how did you do it so fast then?!

Thanks!

Sort:  

Hi,

I did it fast in two ways; first of all I used some of my Steem Dollars to buy Steem on the internal market; which you can access via the drop down in your wallet Buy/Sell Steem

Then I sent my Steem to Bitrex and converted it to Bitcoin, then I sent my Bitcoin to my Kraken account and sold it for Euros. Lastly I deposited into my bank and they gave me GBP, I then transferred some of it to my landlord :-).

The second and much easier way, and in fact a better rate, is using Blocktrades, their I simply sent Steem Dollars without the bother of converting and then they send it on to my Kraken account, in one swift move.

Then as before convert to euros, etc.

That's it!

I believe, powering down will be better, which is what you've done, because you'll get a better rate and your SD to USD rate will be closer to 1:1 (I think). I'm doing a test myself, but I'm trying to change up as little as possible, because there is some good leverage to be had, by keeping SD.

Hope that helps.

CG

Bittrex just announced today that they have opened a Steem Dollar market. So now you can also transfer your Steem Dollars directly to your Bittrex account and trade for Bitcoin. Here is the link:

https://www.bittrex.com/Market/Index?MarketName=BTC-SBD

So now we have another option.

That's good, let's see if their rate is as good as blocktrades, at the moment their Steem rate means blocktrades is better by a significant amount.

CG

Can you maybe tell me more about my kraken account? Should I need one? I want to try to cash out 100$ and see how it goes, just to get familiar with the process. Maybe you can share some links/advice?
Thanks! that;s great!

Sure no problem, go to https://www.kraken.com/ and open up an account, once you're verified you can start using the account fully.

To deposit bitcoin you have bought from Bittrex or through Blocktrades, just click on your name in the top right corner and hit deposit.

That will give you a deposit address which you paste into where you're sending from.

Just start off with $1 to $10 first, to make sure you're familiar and then go from there! :-)

oh and check out https://blocktrades.us/

CG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56