You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Is NOT Steemit. STEEM Is More Valuable Than Steemit.

in #steem6 years ago

Back in the day when I did an estimate of the value of Steem in my blog, I did so on the basis of the market cap of the social media sites that Steemit.com resembles. At the time I did include a caveat that the value could be even more so due to the value of Steem as simply a currency, but I don't think I understood the magnitude of that at the time (especially considering how much money has poured into crypto since then). ~$50 Steem was my amateurish estimate (assuming no inflation and all other variables not taken into consideration), but now that I've learned from yourself and others on the platform just how valuable Steem is just as a currency, not to mention all the other social media applications that are running off of the Steem blockchain, it's maybe a little bit of an underestimation of its value to say $50 Steem.

I wouldn't begin to know how to quantify that, but suffice it to say that I will just continue to hodl what I have and participate what little I can to keep adding to my Steem holdings. I'll keep my target, but I don't think I'll cash everything out at that mark because the potential is so much greater. There's still the possibility that the whole thing will flop and nobody outside our little circle of early adopters will see the value that I do, but I'm willing to take that risk because I enjoy the community so much. Only time will tell if my subjective opinion translates to everyone else's.

Disclaimer: This is not financial advice. I'm not a financial adviser and I am not an expert on cryptocurrencies nor investing. This is the amateur opinion of some guy having fun on the internet. If you choose to invest your money in anything I talk about, you do so at your own risk.

Sort:  

can i use your disclaimer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87