Investment Value Birkin vs Gold... and Steem? | Ramengirl🍜

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

What is Birkin?


KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-07-30-23-35-28_17.jpeg

The Exceptional Collection Rouge H Porosus Crocodile Handbag

I still remember the scene from the Sex and the City. Samantha visits Hermes to buy Birkin Bag, but the staff told her that there is waiting list for a new bag and it’s five years. Samantha says, "Five years? for a bag?" And the staff says. "It’s not a bag, It's a Birkin. "

It is a story from the TV show, but actually, there are waiting lists “for new bags” and it’s six years.


Why Birkin is so expensive?


A Birkin, which is not just a bag, costs between $ 60,000 to $ 200,000. This expensive bag is a dream item that hard to touch for a lifetime even if you want to have it for ordinary women.

Kim-Kardashian-Victoria-Beckham-Himalayan-Crocodile-Birkin-Bag.jpg

victoria beckham & Kim kardashian

After heard the price of the bag, you might want to ask why prices are so expensive?

Birkin’s are made from high quality of crocodile leather, gold and diamonds etc. In addition, the craftsman who makes the bag has to practice for over a year to make the bag, and it takes about 18 hours to make one bag.

Craftsman doesn’t use the machine at all, they only make bags by hand. This explains why there are not so many bags produced at a time and why Birkin is high scarcity.


Birkin Bag

It's not just a bag, it's an art work.

Btw, I have a question about this, there are many kinds of bags made by craftsmen’s hand other than Hermes. Why is the price of Hermes is only extremely high? Is it really not a brand value? But I will talk about this next time.


Birkin vs Gold


According to a recent study, the value of birkin bags has outpaced the price of gold in the last 36 years. They say that the annual return of Birkin was 14.2%, which means that Birkin Bag is better than gold for a long term investment.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-07-30-23-35-28_17.jpeg

The Exceptional Collection Rouge H Porosus Crocodile Handbag

The most expensive Birkin in the world is the ‘Exceptional Collection Rouge H Porosus Crocodile Handbag’, which costs about $ 200,000.

$ 200,000 for one bag? It means 74 of Bitcoin in terms of Bitcoin,
and 200,000 SBD in terms of steam dollars!!

Now, Birkin Bag has surpassed the value of gold, but will it come the day when one coin of crypto currency surpasses this value? Personally, I hope the price of Steem will be like that!!

Would you invest in Birkin Bag or Steem? I’d definitely go with Steem!!!!

Thanks for reading :)

small.png
If you liked my posting please upvote & follow me. Thank you!

Please Follow @ramengirl U5dt42G4xW1EyBKDCHWEBSZLxMxDnZk.gif

Sort:  

Wow, this is really interesting. I've never heard of a Birkin before and there's a 6 year waiting period!

I imagine these bags are the target of thieves who are high fashion connoisseurs.

South Korea is one of the safest countries to holding this Birkin bag on the street, but I think you're right, it might be a bit dangerous outside of Korea.

If you want to have a Birkin bag you should be on the list! Who knows if Steem price is go up to enough to buy it in 6years, maybe we can afford it with Steem ;)

People are crazy with their high-end interests. Some people pay $$$ for furniture, jewelry, cars, but $200,000 for a bag is nuts. I suppose people that buy them can justify the cost because they can resell them and make-up most (if not all of it). Definitely would not want to lose that somewhere. It's like $$$ sunglasses that people are constantly losing after 6 weeks but I digress.

This comment has received a 5.45 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @theabsolute. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Oooo this is pretty interesting, I didn't know designer products held such a return.

Also, thank you for the tip @ramengirl. Now I know to run away if my wife ever mentions "Birkin"...

Haha why don't you mention to your wife first? Actually, I saw a lot of guys holding a Birkin in South Korea. It's pretty funny to watch... they might think it's super cool tho haha ooooops

Thought it said bikini..nevermind...
Just kidding. :)
Interesting.
200k a bag, it better come with 4 tires and about 500 horse power..lol
Upvote and a follow. Threw in a resteem as well. ;)

Hahaha 200k bikini!! It might be exist tho. I really appreciate your support, thanks!

If it didn't exist, it probably will now..haha.

Nice try

Thanks @slowwalker! It's a compliment, right? :)

This is very interesting story. I've never heard about Birkin. Scarcity is the key of value. I also hope that a steem will be worth like $1000 some day.

I hope so too :) Keep Steeming!! :)

Going to have to add Birkins to my crypto portfolio it seems, lol. Do I smell a new token?

Mmmm I also can smell that token :)

I will also go with steem @ramengirl

Ohhh yeahhh :)

I thought for sure you'd pick the Birkin bag over Steem... I think you made the right choice :-)

Haha I don't need that expensive bag atm but in the future who knows?! Actually, I'm not that interested in brand bags..... yet? lol

Perhaps Steem can go up much higher and thus bring a better investment value than Birkins.

I hope so too ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50