You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - What Have The Hardforks Ever Done For Us?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Is it going to be burnt or turned into an smt? Right now, I don't see its use besides rewards and that is not even regular. What are your thoughts.

As I understand it (it was a while ago when I researched the proposed SMT system), steem will be burned to create the SMT token, not SBD.

I agree that the unstable SBD peg to the dollar is a concern. It is one thing that makes steem simpler to understand when a new user lands. You see that half of the post rewards are in spendable money (SBD) and the other half in SP. I remember the pumps on SBD where it went up to multiple dollar levels, which just shows how unstable the peg is.

Ha ha, but I'm going off on a tangent. My thoughts on this one is that SBD does have utility in that it makes things easier to understand when it's stable.

Sort:  

Hmm. Because it would seem that if sbd serves as the reward for posting, steem can easily be removed from voting rewards and spent on or burnt for smt.

Because it would seem that if sbd serves as the reward for posting, steem can easily be removed from voting rewards.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean. How would the sbd rewards be generated without people voting using SP which is steem powered up?

Anyway, I personally think if the steem reward mechanism was forked out it would just be such a waste of all the time people have put in here. Essentially it would be like starting all over again with each community.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60