Made It To Vegas!!! Steem Conference Starts Today!

in #steem6 years ago

As I posted last I was getting on the flight to Vegas with zero hours of sleep, sleeping on planes for me isn't very good but I did probably get about 1 hours of sleep. As soon as you get off the plane you know ur in Vegas haha there ere slot machines/gambling machines everywhere!

IMG_8691.jpg

Its actually a really great place for gambling machines cause people in the airport have time to kill anyways and generally there is nothing do in airports.

IMG_8686.jpg

They gambling machines are everywhere and literally right in front of you when you walk off the plane.

IMG_8694.jpg

Advertising in America is everywhere but in Vegas its VEGAS ADVERTISING!

IMG_5653.JPG

After landing and bypassing all the gambling machines without any temptation to try (I have never actually used or tried or even wanted to with all the time I have spent in Vegas so far) then it was off to collect the massive amount of bags we have as we are setting up an entire art room at the conference PLUS we have about 75 one of a kind hand painted, sustainably sourced in @gardenofeden !

IMG_0948.JPG

Though my ideals are almost the exact opposite of Vegas, I am prepared and feeling right at home!

Then its time for an Uber ride which is kinda normal these days but also noteworthy really quick that its really quite amazing and revolutionary. Uber changed the world and is a huge upgrade to the taxi system.

Yet the institutions still try and shut Uber out and support the taxi system even though its inferior. At airports around the world not just in USA they either don't allow Uber or make the Uber pick ups be far away access points of the airport. Hotels and other big money institutions also do similar things.

Anyways I won't go into that any more now or any more of this awesome adventure so far. Practical speaking its way to much time invested in it already!
I have my Keynote in 45 minutes. Just wanted to check in and share the photos I have form the trip so far, LOTS more to come!

∞§∞SteemOn∞§∞

Sort:  

I couldn't help but notice you talking about Uber revolutionizing the taxi industry. As a former taxi driver I can say that the only real argument regarding Uber and the legal issues regarding operations would be the way the taxi laws are stated. Uber saw this loophole being a technology company and took advantage of it. (I am in no way upset at them for doing this. I have emailed them many times in the past to come to my city while I was driving cab)

It's been my understanding that back in the day when someone ordered a taxi (before cellphones and radio-dispatch technology) there were Call Boxes in specific areas that made for a taxi stand and allowed people to phone for a cab.

When companies like Motorola (or the first of their kind) started coming out with Radio Dispatch technologies, there were a lot of companies that refused to adhere to the new technologies. Those who adopted radio dispatching flourished as the market changed while those who refused went out of business.

The dropped ball is that cab companies are typically not software engineers that can develop amazing apps.

The wording in the laws is the rest because it's so old and outdated that it literally states in order for a "taxi ride" to be considered as such there has to be a monetary exchange between the driver and the customer. Since the wording in this law doesn't include all the new technology we've gained in the last 25+ years, it effectively creates a modern loophole that allows companies like Uber to operate without needing a taxi medallion. You hire Uber to find you a driver, the driver shows up, you pay Uber through your app via credit card automatically at the end of the ride. You didn't pay Uber for a ride, you paid Uber to find you a ride. Then, Uber pays the driver a week/month later (whatever their payout is). Since the old law doesn't include this, it's considered perfectly legal for them to operate.

It hurts taxi companies and I can understand why governments lean towards supporting taxi's over uber. The problem that taxi companies have is it can be expensive to develop your own app like uber, forcing them to rent a spot in apps like ihail just to compete.

It's like if Motorola had decided that instead of selling or renting their radio's to taxi companies they were gonna be the taxi company themselves. Instead of Uber renting out the use of their app (there are many that do this for taxi's now), they saw the opportunity to more or less dominate the taxi industry without being a taxi. They revolutionized the industry by introducing Smart Dispatching which will replace Radio Dispatching. There is no longer a need to deal with a live dispatcher lying to you about how long it's going to be to get your cab. There are taxi's that don't have the ability to pick up flags and are only allowed to get customers that call. There are also taxi's that can't get calls and must only pick up flags, which are customers that waive down a taxi, so it makes sense that they make Uber essentially hide around the corner.

Of course none of this bothers me because being technologically savvy myself I saw what Uber did, is doing and the potential for it, so I got out of the taxi industry and found a way to compete with Uber in a way that their service is no competition for me. I started a company that takes patrons home from the bar in their vehicle. Drunk at the bar? I take you home in your car. We show up with two drivers in one vehicle. One driver drives your car with you in it while the other driver follows. The driver of your car gets back in the follow vehicle and they're off to get the next one.

Anyways, sorry for the novel! People always ask me about it so I rather enjoy explaining the how and the why. Have a great day!

Very interesting!

Look out Vegas... You will without a doubt change the infamous "what happens in vegas...." motto. When they hear what you have to share it will spread worldwide!

Wow! I'm glad you are having a wonderful experience already. You and climbing, see you climbing your luggages again... Smile
Can't wait to get some of the tips from the program.
Where do you keep my dear friend @everyone, I guess she's handling the camera again.

Indeed spending much time behind the camera---so many moments to capture. Now, there is finding the time to edit them all. Glad your getting some of the taste of Vegas through my eyes @emmakkayluv!!

Trust you, I already put that to quinne, I know you will be handling camera, only you can capture those beautiful moments no one can ever imagine. Your attention to those things we call ordinary is extraordinary... Smile
With those pictures, I'm experiencing Vegas live even while I'm still within the walls of Nigeria.

It's all about the LOVE - encoded in every picture!!! <3 Glad you can feel it @emmakkayluv!

Glad you made me to.... Smile

wow! you are on a vacation mode...enjoy and goodluck sir! Roll the dice for me lol and send me some chips! just joking..

i absoutly thanks for sharing this posts!
but i am read this posts in 3 minutes!

Much success to you during you speaking engagements....Viva Las Vegas!

Great photos... Enjoy a lot in Vegas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46