You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Rewards and Voting Incentive

in #steem8 years ago

Why are people flagging this post??? I think explained this bot situation/prediction perfectly.. The whales are in competition to up vote quality content, and because this effects the curation rewards they will create more sophisticated bots, or develop other strategies that help them get to the quality posts first.
In my opinion anything that gets the quality posts being put out by minnows to be noticed is a good thing for steemit. Most new users will start out as minnows, and we want an environment that encourages them to participate. Since their minnow status gives them little reward for upvoting, they need to focus on posting good content. However if no whales ever notice their posts, this lead to quickly being discouraged, and losing interest.. I'm a perfect example. My latest post today included 14 original images, and a well written story of my tragic accident... Do you think any whales will notice my minnow post?!? Nope.. Not likely.. Why can I say that? Because I am a minnow! I post many times a week, I put in hours of work on each post and I only get upvoted by many other minnows.
Please don't regard this comment as a beg for your upvote because you are a whale. I'll I'm saying is anything that get's whales to notice quality minnow posts will only help our community to grow.

Sort:  

But I think you're missing the point. He's saying that whales are only interested in content that will go viral, and therefore be more financially rewarding if they play their curation right. It has almost nothing to do with quality of content, and everything with 'gaming' the system for posts which may go viral. We all know that many posts which are not quality can and do go viral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84