I Stopped my Power Down

in #steem7 years ago

Well guys....last week I started to power down. Many reasons.....if I'm being honest, I don't have the same belief in Steemit that I did when I first started it. Don't get me wrong, I think it's a great idea, and it has a lot of potential, but it's a bit ridiculous the way it's set up. The rich get richer and hold all the power, and the poor stay poor...it's that simple, it's that annoying. I'm tired of seeing minnows groveling and kissing up to anyone with a ton of Steam power just hoping to get that $20 upvote. I'm also tired of these whales putting up videos that are about absolutely nothing and they get $1000 for talking about how rich they are and how much money they're making...are you kidding me? I'm also not saying it's their fault...if its their for the taking...take it. If you have a 4000 following, and tons of whales following you, and tons of people wanting your up vote, why not work as little as possible and make more money in a month than most doctors and lawyers...it's ridiculous, and really, it's not good for the future value of the Steem coin, no matter how you look at it. Steemit will probably make it as one of the top coins in the future, but at what cost. It might make it....it also might be so diluted, that the coin stays at the same price. Isn't the purpose of believing in the company behind the coin, ultimately to hope the coin goes up in value? I just don't see that happening anytime soon with the way Steemit has its infrastructure set up. I also understand people in the Steemit community don't like to read posts like this...seems like most want to be blinded by what's so obviously ridiculous in the community, and just continue thinking that Steemit is going to be a $50 coin in a few years....not a chance with how it's run now..I'd be surprised if it's even $10 in a couple years. Another reason I was going to power down was to buy into a couple other ICO's that I really like coming out soon, and I needed the money. I guess I'm sticking it out because I do think the founders @Dan and @Ned are extremely intelligent and drives people whose live and breathe building this company. Here's a thought......if everyone had THAT much faith in Steemit, well then why can't everyones upvote just be the same amount, or base it off of reputation score instead of Steem power. If the people with $100,000 steempower really believe in the company, then why not just invest in it without the need to get paid ridiculous sums of money, and keep the money in the company itself, and let them build it that way. I think the subscribers will come regardless...people that love blogging, have never really needed to get paid to blog anyway...they do it because they like to, and that's it. Personally I think the coin would go up MUCH faster if these huge amounts of money wasn't being paid to the "celebrity" bloggers...for sure the coin would go up faster. This money isn't falling from the sky that these whales are being gives...it's going to end up hurting the company in the long run....so I'm hoping the developers see this, and change how payouts are done in the future. I think everyone would be happy if the coin went up to $10 and their investment was 5 times what it is now, regardless if they were making huge amounts blogging. These alt coins shouldn't be looked at as a get rich quick scheme, and that's what I think Steemit is turning into, and the kind of people who are being lured into it.....I hope I'm wrong, but for now, I've cancelled my power down, in hopes of a brighter future and a better hardfork next time around. On a happier note, tomorrow is hump day. Enjoy the rest of your week from Queen Eleanor and myself! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! I think you are doing Great

Great post, you said what a lot of us minnows have been thinking. Thanks for the post.

Yeah man im gettig tired of see such crap go to the top its made the trending page useless and the groveling robots .. making the community feel fake as shit

EXACTLY! That's exactly the way I've been feeling lately when I'm looking over blogs, posts, comments, and replies. Exactly what you said!

I find people are a lot less honest on this site due to the economic incentives. Everyone here is trying to make money, therefore their comments all reflect that. I like the concept but I find the comments are generally wanting of "realness"

Annnnnndddd again...EXACTLY what @quattrophoto said. It's that same thing. Thank you for being honest. I agree 100%. Concept is amazing, but there's gotta be a way to make it more "real"

Great post
You are doing Great

Nice post @queeneleanor
Apprecited Your Work ...... You Always produce quality content......

I would like to request you please keep posting this type of valueable content for the community of steemit as this platform is growing up day by day .. I would request you that you must support new steemer like me and other .

I am in love with one of my post as a senior steemer I need your Honest feedback regadding that . If you get time from your busy life and write your comment upon it . It will be really apprecited ..

If I missed I do Apoligize for that ...

Thank you so much your kindly upvote with my comment...i'm following your every post day by day..

When you want to convert your Steem power back to Steem, you have to power down, which takes I believe 6 weeks, where you paid 25% every 10 days of your steempower back to steem. Something like that...someone can correct me if I'm off on those stats, but it's close to that....keeps it so people can't cash out all at once and cause the coin to crash

Wow, you do not totally wrong in what you say. But know that it is thanks to the rich that people like me manage to earn a little money. And today it is not easy in all countries. Steemit is not that bad.

So, the "celebrity" bloggers have been here for so much longer, and before Steemit was ever a "profitable" venture. So, yes, they should be able to earn Steem at higher values than the rest of us new"er" comers.

With that said, I agree 100% that many whales post garbage that isn't worth the platform that it's posted on.

There needs to be a "quality" rating that gets added beyond the simple Steem Power aspect, because currently, that isn't working. What is a better method? I don't know. Therefore, unless we're able to post a better solution, there is very little positive effect that we can garner from this type of posting.

Let's enjoy the brilliance of the platform and try to improve it, as opposed to complaining that there is something wrong without proposing a viable solution.

I'm not trying to put you down, or say you're wrong. I just want you, and the other people who think the platform is "wronging" them, to provide a workable solution to the problems that exist also we can all grow together!

Cheers!

I'm not trying to complain...I'm stating the issues I have, which is what you do when you want to address something that doesn't work. Most marriages end in divorce because a lack of communication. I feel like if enough people had issues with the way it's run, eventually the people who can change it will notice and hopefully do something about it. Personally I have a good amount of Steem power....far less than some though. I just don't like how powerful it that steempower makes some people feel, and how weak it makes others feel. It shouldn't matter...good content should be rewarded regardless of who it comes from, but that's not the way it works. And the celebrity bloggers have not been here so much longer...what, a year? It's only been around for about that time. I really don't think what they're getting paid comes even close to justifying what they do. The system is off, and I don't think it's complaining to express my concern...it's expressing my concern, which isn't complaining. I've done just find on what I've made on Steem. I'm just thinking out loud and seeing what others think about its future and if it will be able to sustain itself with the way it currently is working, but thanks for the input!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52