You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why There Is Not The Negativity On Steemit Like Other Social Media Sites

in #steem7 years ago

I think it's a shame that so many get discouraged and quit after only a couple of weeks because they're payouts are so small. I wish there was some way to really reach the newcomers and make them understand that today's pennies are tomorrow's dollars.

Sort:  

I agree.

Facebook and Twitter don't payout anything to their users, so even pennies in crypto is a big improvement. I see people spending huge amounts of time on Reddit, and the only thing they get in return for their lengthy contributions is upvotes, and maybe the occasional donation of Reddit Gold.

Even spending a few minutes of your day posting well-written comments on Steemit is far more rewarding!

People are always going to get discouraged unless they have the determination and commitment necessary. The same goes for starting a youtube channel for example, the fact is that very few people are going to find quick success, and most doesn't have the will power to keep going and play the long game. I don't see a problem with that personally, it's just the way it is.

Unfortunately I think they're taking the wrong approach if they quit for that reason. The money should only be the icing on the cake, at least to start with. It takes time to build up any business or social media account. Having said that, a lot of people quit at them too!

Glad you're still around. 😁

I’m glad to be here! You know, I’ve thought a lot about the fact that so many people jump on Facebook or Twitter or whatever, with no expectation of payout, and they’re hammerin’ on it all day long. But when offered the chance to make a little money, they walk away when it’s not as much as they hoped for, or as much as so-and-so is earning. I guess some are happy with nothing, as long as everyone else has nothing, but having a little isn’t enough if someone else has more.

I’m still here because I love this community. Facebook couldn’t afford to pay me what I would require to play their game.

The newbies need to have a business plan on how to push out content day by day despite the fact that the pennies are so low. I am very happy if it generates $0.02 and 1 people like my post other than me. It shows me that I am improving after a little over a month here on Steemit. (I wish I had found Steemit earlier. Haha)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47