Week 2, 2018: Your Musical Steem and SBD Report

in #steem7 years ago

ChordArrows.jpg

Week 2, 2018: Your Musical Steem and SBD Report


Your Musical Steem and SBD Report


This music composition as made based on the movement of the Japanese candlesticks for Steem and SBD this week. This week we saw different movement in the structure, and thus different music. I decided to take a different approach since I have been traveling. I used my iRig keys plugged into my iPad to help sound some music so that I could hear the general idea of what I was doing. Once I got the main melody down, I populated the rest based on movement of the chart and music theory.

This is the second of two so far. I hope everyone enjoys this one as it represents a great deal of thought in process.

Take a listen to the music mixed all together:

Take a listen to the music panned (SBD on Left and STEEM on Right):

This panned track let's you hear the separation of the lines better.

Compositional Process


Each beat equals 2 hours on the Steem and SBD charts. The cello middle line plays Steem as a tremolo line, and the top line is the SBD chart. The bass is just the root note of the chord.

Last week the chord structure was in the key of D major. I decided to pivot off of that key in a relatively tasteful way. Here's last week's structure:
/ I / IV / V/vi / vi / V7(b9) / I / Vsus4-V /

At the last chord (Asus-A) I have it transition over to Bm chord.

Chord Structure for this week's post:

IMG_1575.JPG

Take a look at how the chords move with the arrows.

ChordArrows.jpg

Here's the handwritten score (the top line is transposed down 1 octave for Cello)

IMG_1574 copy.jpg

Here is SBD (above) and Steem chart (below)

Charts week 2.1.jpg

Recording


This week I hired a friend of mine who is a professional cellist. She took this idea and enhanced it to a musical level. I wasn't able to spend as much time inputting the notes, and figured that a professional would do this better. I have hired Ro to play cello on several projects and am so happy that I'm able to bring her playing into Steemit somehow.

This is the first time I've hired someone through Steemit and I appreciate all the support I've had thus far to make this happen. The more this is possible the better these things get. She took the music and recorded it within a few hours so that I was able to put it all together and make this post.

26905955_10107877079321716_1525009894_o.jpg

Permission from Ro

"Ro Rowan is a Los Angeles-based cellist, composer and sound designer. In addition to performing within a broad spectrum of genres, Ro enjoys exploring and developing non-tractional techniques of playing and composing for the cello. Their cello can be heard on more than 200 albums, films, television shows, commercials, trailers, video games and live performance videos."

Ro has worked with such well-known artists, musicians and composers as Lorde, Mike Posner, Toni Braxton, Willie Nelson, Annie Lennox, The Boston Pops, Dream Theater, Alan Silvestri, George S. Clinton, Ron Carter, Terri Lyne Carrington, Lalah Hathaway and Melissa Ferrick. They also played on Deepak Chopra’s meditation CD, The Secrets of Healing.

Ro’s cello can be heard on over 300 tracks for more than 175 albums, motion picture and television soundtracks, commercials, trailers, video games and short films." Source

Future Thoughts


I would like to be able to do monthly summaries involving Steemit users. So don't be shy and reach out! It would be amazing to involve some of the tremendous talent found on here.

Depending on how complicated I allow them to get, I will be posting either once per week, or once per month with a musical update!

Thanks to Trading View for the Charts!

Steemians, thanks for taking a look at this report and stay tuned for future ones! Please comment, upvote, resteem, follow, anything helps and I want to meet all of you interested in making Steemit as passionate and collaborative as it can be!

follow_playitforward.gif

Sort:  

this reminds me of

http://cryptofeels.net/

@fitzgibbon, haha I love how emotional the music is. And the subtle scrolling. Hopefully you liked my interpretation :D

LOVE THIS!

This is definitely one of the most creative posts I've seen here on Steemit. I think we need more of this, man. It's beautiful and comical at the same time.

While everyone else is pouring over the crypto charts, trying to interpret it and give their take on what's happening, you sonically interpret it and turn into art. Bravo!

Hi @mariogiancini! Thank you. I think there is a need for more art related to this. People take it so seriously and sometimes we just need some artistic relief! Stay tuned for the next one! :)

John Cage is jerking off in his grave to this. This is such a hysterically good idea and I literally fell out of my bed laughing. I didn't even know you could fall out of bed laughing. Kudos to you my guy, you are what the Steemit music community needs.

Thank you! I appreciate it. I will be making more to come! Hopefully you can follow along some of them. @ausxen Also, funny comment about John Cage. Maybe I should do a piano thrown out the window version of these charts? Too avante-garde? ;)

Hey dude! That's really interesting. These type of projects are needed in the platform. Sometimes the creative work is undervalued in Steemit. Thank to @sndbow I found you!

@daveleo1119 Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to check it out. I just figured that there are so many visual takes to the charts, why not a sonic one?

Why not, with the recent developments of AI I hope the sometime in the future the musical works will be created regarding their graphic structure.

I wish I could upvote twice, I love this concept! The piece turned out really nice, thank you for sharing!

Thank you! That's a very kind comment! Was the chart clear to hear? @tincon

Thank you! @aksinya. Your work is so amazing.

Wow. Very haunting. Definitely not what I expected, but it's still a beautiful number.

Thank you! The charts were unexpected as well. I guess that's the beauty that they wrote. @scuzzy

What an amazing concept and SBD sound ! Kudos on a great initiative

Really great article I made a good choice, my friend, I hope to become successful like you

Thanks, I appreciate it. You might become more successful than you can imagine! Just be persistent and have good content. :) @abed894

This is fantastic ! As a music lover with a poor ear :) I can only say wow ! Creative , poetry , music , technique , art all is there ! BRAVO !

Thank you! @crypto4iso, I appreciate you taking a look and listen. The process was sort of crazy but hopefully the end result removes some of that mechanical tendency.

ONe of your friend followers posted it on my blog , I was trying to launch a music contest to find the steemit song :) the jury was my daughter and I ... but am to new for it totake off , just testing all the possibilities of steemit .

I think you might be the winner ! :)

So this post was submited to a contest I tried to throw and you got my 100 % up vote and resteem :)

Love your creativity !

@crypto4iso, WOW. I am honored to have received this and appreciate the support. This is incredible. I am going to be doing another one tomorrow. There's always this fear as a composer at the beginning of the process "how do I write music?" This strikes me every time, even after having written for feature films, commercials, games. It's the first step on the trail that gets you to the end. Anyways, I rant. Thanks for the support and thank you for having an encouraging initiative for people to be submitting creative works. Us creatives need to stick together! Followed.

Your were judge by my little one :) she might try to play it on the guitare

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45