Celebrating 1000 followers - my road to this number... and my tips for beginners!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!


Since few days I was looking at number 999, waiting for that one more person, 'who will do me a big pleasure' ;)

That person was @eadieneill - Thank You!

To celebrate the round number - I will gather few essential tips which helped me to reach the position I am now.

I know, that 1000 followers isn't something BIG for many of You - but for those, who think it is - keep reading, I hope I will help You a bit.


Tło YT.jpg


MY HISTORY:

I joined steemit / steem blockchain 10 months ago.
I was shocked at the beginning, that there is something like blogging platform, which rewards the author's in REAL money - well, in crypto currency, but as I checked after my first bigger payment - everything worked well and this dream become reality :).

After first WOOW and WAAW's I got the point where I stuch in a position of an author, who put all the efforts in sharing his best works and getting really small upvotes or follows... Then I begun to read - and gathering informations from YT movies.

In the beginning I also thought it is possible to quit the normal job, and doing really great posts - gather enough money to survive or even live normal life. It was the time, when one of my bigger gallery got huuuge support and was upvoted by 230$ ! That time, steem was worth more than 4$ so the real worth of the upvotes was as high as 920 USD!

You can check this particular post here:
https://steemit.com/photography/@photovisions/my-photovisions-1-frozen-worlds-macro-ispirations

I was shocked, I got amazing feeling that finally I can start doing what I love and make some money on it.

This HYPE didn't last long...
That huge upvote was a single case and I learned a new thing - how unstable the money and rewards are.
In 7 days, from 230$ left something around 140$ ...
It was the time when BitCoin dropped on its head, followed by all other crypto money.
I was really green in crypto world, but I started to learn how it looks like, what is it and why it exists... but this is subject for other post anyway...

I still had a big hopes with the project and even now, when STEEM is far below 1$ - still have this hope and the feeling that one day I won't regret the time spent blogging here.

Something which cannot be transfered to money is a lot of great people I met, passionated about what they are doing, great amount of inspirations and positive energy in all support actions. Also the feeling that my works can inspire others. These cannot be changed or valued by $$$

Money...

I learned that as a photographer - without any investitions in the platform (I paid 50 Steem in the beginning but took it out after first payments to check if its working) is really hard to earn big money.
I am not a crypto expert, I am not a great programmer, I am not a reach person, I am not taking part in any big projects - I am just a photographer, a traveller, who share the shots and stories. This is hard position to start, but as You can see, it is possible to grow, maybe not so fast, but always forward!


During these 10 months I learned a lot and I knew the way to success on Steem - want to read it in few simple steps?

This is of course my own observations, my own thoughts and advices - don't treat them like "the only truth".
It will be nothing new, but these things helped me, maybe they will also help You.


IMG_0433nologo.jpg


From the beginning:

  1. Good #introducemyself post - first line of catching the whales ;). Try to do it properly, be honest, be a "human" not so random user. Steem is not a facebook - here, only people who have something to tell or show matters - it is brutal world but this is how it is...
  2. You will need a lot of time! If You will do it from time to time - don't expect good results. Posting, commenting, being part of the community, answering comments, upvoting other posts - all of this taking time. Don't spare it!
  3. Quality content matters - this is the biggest secret and the biggest tip - produce quality and You will find followers! It don't matter If You will do everyday blog from Your life, travel blog, share photos, make food, being Santa Claus or chasing rabbit - If You present it in a quality way - it is half of success!
    Original stuff is very much welcome here! Not like in FB or other social platforms - where only colorful, beautiful stuff maters - here - every hobby, every way of living and thinking is warm welcome!
  4. Next step - socialize - this is something I learned during the process ;). Find people that interests You, comment their works You like, be honest, be supportive.
  5. Go to Discord, join the groups, chat with people, read the news and annoucments - this will hepl You to find people to follow and to learn much about the platform and plans for future. Do it, it is great to be connected and to be "informed"
  6. If You are photographer - take part in all contests! Check @customnature @czechglobalhosts @photocontests - keep Your eyes open on where other photographers posting photos, try to spy them a little to find new contest sources ;)...
  7. Most supportive communities and curators - to get higher upvotes, being more visible, got great support and many new followers - visit pages of best supporting projects. Here are some of them I know and appreciate for great supporting work:
    @curie - amazing huge supportive community operating with many different matters, check their projects and follow!
    @c-cubed @buildawhale @appreciator @ocd-resteem @postpromoter & many others - visit their pages - see what they offer, follow and learn how they works - it is worth it!
    Community projects! - Not only great support for Your posts but also great people behind them!
    @photofeed @photomag @photocircle @photofriend - great places to be for photographer - You can tag Your posts with photography to get noticed and be featured by them! Join their Discords, introduce Yourself there, I am sure You will get a lot of support! Especially @photofeed! :)
    @travelfeed - in my opinion the best community created to support travellers - read about their projects, plans for future, join community on Discord - and if You are posting travel content - always tag with #travelfeed ! Great place to be!
    Update: Also check @steempeak project and their great steem operating platform - which has much more useful features than Steemit in my taste.
  8. Don't trust any promotion methods "send us 1 STEEM or 1 SBD and You will get 200+ upvotes!" - I tried many of such offers, to check how they works - and it is totally waste of time, they operating on empty accounts, their votes are worth nothing and You wont even get back this 1 or 2 invested SBD or STEEM. If You want to boost Your post - use @buildawhale @smartsteem or @minnowbooster services - check their sites, learn how they works - they are trust worthy and I can reccomend them to all who want to boost the posts faster. But first, You have to learn how they works.
  9. Almost finish here - be patient! Perseverance, consistency, determined. Time is running fast - I remember when I joined and now have a 1000 followers here, without investing nothing more than time and sharing nothing more than my passion to traveling and photography.
  10. GOOD LUCK :). Stay positive, don't treat this as a source of money! Don't read too much Trending posts! Do Your job but keep Your eyes open, be hunger for knowledge about the platform, experiment, share the knowledge and gather positive energy sending the same to others!

That 10 tips and advices I would like to send to all the Steemians!


Hope some curation will help the post to be more visible and easy to find by beginners-steemians ;).


Thank You all for everything, I will be here until the end, I am sure, hoping for bright future for Steem and all the Steem platforms!


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

Sort:  

Nice. I am glad that your here for the long haul. I started about a month or two before you and it has been a wild ride with it falling from 8$ to 0.80 cents and watching people drift away from the platform. It is telling who is left here and who simply appreciate the ability to have an independent platform that they can share their work that is not controlled by some management team on behalf of some shareholders. The irony is that the people who stick around now are the ones who will make some money in the next spike.

Two points to add; I am surprised you did not mention @photofeed as in my opinion they were instrumental in pulling together the photography community. Also I would suggest people (photographers in particular) check out steempeak.com (@steempeak) It is a much more beautiful platform to interact with the steem blockchain than steemit.com and even has a portfolio mode.

Excellent post and I have thoroughly enjoyed meeting you here on steem over this past year. A well deserved 1k followers !

Of course it is my simple mistake to forgot about @photofeed which is one of the main photographic curator in Steem. Also thanks to mention about @steempeak - it is great project and everyone should check the platform and its features.
Thanks a lot for comment! I hope the core which stayed here, will be here much longer and in future nobody will be disapointed :).

So when are you coming to visit Canada?

Hahaaa, I wish... If I had possibilities - even tomorrow ;)

A 20$ steem price would help ;-)

O yeah! I would pack myself even now ;)...
But bigger problem than money is time right now...

Congratulations on the milestone. And you summed up starting out on Steemit perfectly, I can totally relate to so many things. Thank you for sharing these valuable tip, everyone starting out should read them.

And of course, thank you for your kinds words about @travelfeed !!!

Thank You, You and the rest of the team are doing great job and everybody in Steem should know about Your projects!
All the best to You and other members of @travelfeed !

Congrats on 1k!! You deserve it. I haven't been following you for a long time ( about 1.5 months ) but now I do and I love to see your great content, keep it up!
Not sure why I found you so late, I have been here 9 months and followed many legit photography/life blogs during that time.

Anyway, enjoy this muffin.

2Q==.jpg

Wow! Never got any Muffin here before! <3
Thanks for the comment! I am really glad You like my works I am sharing here.
All the best to You also!

Congrats! And good tips to other users, thanks for the info on bit bots and promotion services. I should look into those photo groups more, since 90% of what im posting is photography related.

@photocircle is for users with a rep of 52 or lower so I cant use that.
@photofriend seems to have a nice delegation program and tag use.
@photomag looks nice
@photofeed looks nice too

Do any of these need me to register?

Congratulations on your 1000th follower. You are doing great :) I always love your photos.

Thank You, great to hear!

I'm one of your early followers and witnessed how much quality stuff you posted during those months. Lot of dedicated work day after day. There are no free meals in steemit as in any other places, but you proved that hard work pays off!
Wish you all the luck and huge success on this platform, you truly deserve it!

Thanks a lot, I always try to be honest in my posts and do it for fun and pleasure, both for You and for me :). The Steemit blog is like my personal jurnal, I like to share some of the posts with others in other platforms as well. It is great blogging option and of cours, if You will get any dollar from it - it is just in plus :).
Have a good day!

I always look forward to seeing your posts pop up on my feed - congrats on your milestone and here's to the next one.

Great to hear, hope it won't change :). Thanks!

Congratulations :) I´m glad you´re part of this community and I always love to see your posts, even if i unfortunately miss many of them... but I´ll keep coming back :)

I am not so active last weeks - too many work in real life and the price of steem is not pushing me to post so many as I used to before, but I am staying and I will do some stuff from time to time for sure! Thank You for the comment, stay strong!

Very good advice and awesome you reached 1,000 followers! Congratulations!

Yes contest are one thing I'm still not getting into but learning a lot about the platform thanks to being a part of travelfeed. Love that group :)

Thank You, wish You the best here! Take care!

Just seeing this ... Good read and good tips. I am sending it to my photographer friends ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28